Skip to content

Back on the wagon and blogging about it

May 17, 2009
tags:

Ever since I reached the halfway point to my goal, I’ve felt my progress slow to a halt. I managed to shed another 10lbs somehow in the process, but my routine was very off-balance… a lot of cardio, little to no strength training and a lot more junk food intake than I was willing to admit to myself (or track in my food journal). Success in weight loss is all about balance. And today is a new day! My Day One – Back on the Wagon.

Breakfast was typical. 1/2 cup of instant oatmeal (which I usually prefer with salt & pepper as opposed to cinnamon & sugar – I know, I’m weird) and a cup of coffee with a couple teaspoons of Sugar Free Hazelnut Creamer. I finished off the fruit bowl in my kitchen last week, so I had a 6 oz cup of Pomegrante Berry yogurt instead. A pretty filling breakfast totaling 252 calories. Not a bad start to the day!

I took some time to rethink my fitness schedule this morning and have decided that Sundays, Wednesdays and Saturdays will be running days; Mondays and Thursdays will be strength training + cardio days – and Tuesdays and Fridays are resting days.

Running after almost a week of not was harder than I expected. My body fought me with every step… so I gave my all for 27 minutes, burned 268 calories (according to my HRM) and called it a day. 27 minutes is something, right?

The most exhausting part of all of this is PLANNING: creating a fitness routine, figuring out meals, researching grocery lists ahead of time so I’m not left high, dry, and defaulting to McDonald’s. It may be extra work, but it’s worth it to live well.

sig

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

