Skip to content

Ready to run

May 20, 2009

3.29 miles in 45 minutes! I was up at a little after 5am for no reason at all. The combination of the sun and hearing the birds chirping all at once woke me up. Since it was nature’s alarm clock, I didn’t mind at all but instead strapped on my running shoes and hit the road.

It was one of those perfect mornings where my playlist was hitting all the right songs and the sun was at my back. I felt strong and my pace was just right – everything was great until 15 minutes in when my pesky side cramps returned! (That link is really interesting since I exhale on my right foot.)

I ended up alternating running and walking for the rest of the way home, but even slowing my pace, I made it back in 45 minutes which is 1 minute shy of the time I made on my first 5k race back in December. Little progress is still progress! Plus, it was a nice little 472-calorie workout. I can’t complain.

What’s on the menu?

bfastBreakfast (341 calories): a pre-run banana and a post-run 1/2 cup egg whites, scrambled with shredded carrots (sprinkled with a little garlic powder & pepper) and a small baked potato sliced and browned in skillet (with more pepper – yum!).

Lunch is a surprise! Metromix Nashville is giving away a FREE lunch to the first 50 people through the door. Today is my friend Paul’s birthday and I suggested we all meet up at noon to kick off the celebration. So, a free lunch with fun friends – that’s the good news. The bad (okay, hilarious) news is that the free lunch is at Coyote Ugly. I thought I’d at least try to plan ahead by looking at their menu online, but it turns out they don’t have one… gee, I wonder why.

I’m planning on something light and easy for dinner (Campbell’s Healthy Request soup, maybe?) so I can balance out my potentially heavy lunch and the after-dinner cocktail I plan to toast Paul with later tonight. It’s all about moderation, not deprivation.

Celebrate the day!

sig

One Comment leave one →
  1. Blee permalink
    May 20, 2009 3:24 pm

    Smiling fruit!

Leave a Reply

