Skip to content

Tasty scramble with a side of pulp

May 23, 2009

Happy Memorial Day weekend!

According to my new and improved routine, today is a running day… and that’s how I probably should’ve started my day instead of cooking a full, delicious breakfast. But, oh well. πŸ™‚

What’s on the menu?

  • chopped red onions and green peppers (I used the leftovers from the homemade pizza I made last night)
  • 1 clove of garlic, which I chopped and sauteed with the veggies
  • 1/2 cup egg whites which I scrambled in when the veggies were tender

bfasteggsAfter I plated my scramble, I lightly sprinkled some reduced-fat Parmesan cheese on top. Yum!

Also, I had a really sad looking banana leftover from the bunch I bought last weekend. It was way too ripe to eat plain, so I threw it in the blender with one whole orange (peeled and seeded, of course), some ice cubes and a splash or 3 of some Diet Snapple Cranberry-Raspberry Juice Drink. After tasting it, I tossed in a few shakes of a sweetener packet (probably 1/2) to cut the bitterness of the berries and continued blending. It was actually really good! …But heavy on the pulp. If you have an aversion to texture, you may want to strain this puppy through a cheesecloth or filter first.

After all was said and done, my meal came in at a ridiculously filling 265 calories. I’ll get a run in today at some point for sure, but I’m definitely going to have to wait awhile for this breakfast to settle.

Have a wonderful weekend! What’re you going to do with your extra day off?

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lailablogs permalink
    May 23, 2009 9:47 pm

    simple .. and sounds delicious … Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 25, 2009 1:30 am

    Thanks, Laila! Glad you could stop by!

Leave a Reply

