Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: the good, the bad, and the cream puffs

May 24, 2009

Week #1 went swimmingly! At my weigh-in today I was down 3.4lbs from last Sunday and I’m already back to feeling stronger, happier, etc., etc. With all the benefits that come with eating right and exercising, it’s a wonder that I ever fall in these slumps where I don’t do either.

Goals for this Week #2:

  • Push further in this week’s workouts – go 10 minutes longer than planned
  • Try one new recipe this week

What’s on the menu?

appleoatsBreakfast: This morning was overcast and dreary and I don’t know about you, but even in the summer on days like this I want a hot comfort food breakfast. I cut up some apple slices and mixed them in with 1/2 cup instant oats. I sprinkled the top with cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, some sweetener and a little salt. I sliced the rest of the apple and had the wedges on the side. My yummy, hot breakfast hit the spot at 231 calories.

I wanted to go light this morning since I was attending a friend’s bridal shower this afternoon… and definitely wanted to have my cake and eat it, too!

showerLunch: delicious shower treats! Strawberries, grapes, cheese cubes, crackers, petit fours, brownie bites topped with fruit jam, cream puffs (which will be the death of me) and a sparkling berry punch! It tasted just as good, if not better than it looked… but I should’ve known better.

When I got home, I recorded the food in my SparkPeople log and, it’s an estimate here, but I’m coming up with approximately 500 calories. And I got the SMALL plate!

Grr. I’m a little frustrated at myself for this. Note to self: in future situations like this, load up on the fruit first.

The good news is that even with dinner (a grilled chicken salad at one of my favorite neighborhood Mexican restaurants), I was able to stay within my daily caloric intake range. Sure, it was the high end, but I was still in range.

It’s times like these where I repeat one of my favorite quotes:

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Tomorrow is a new day! Time to refocus and try again.

sig

4 Comments leave one →
  1. upinthecosmos permalink
    May 25, 2009 12:53 am

    That is a fabulous quote!! Congrats on staying within your calories limits for the day even with the shower, things could have been worse!

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 25, 2009 1:29 am

    Very, very true! πŸ™‚

  3. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties permalink
    May 26, 2009 12:27 am

    Love the quote! Good for you on the weightloss! I really love the look of your blog. Keep up the good work, it does pay off πŸ™‚
    Shannon

  4. Amanda permalink*
    May 26, 2009 9:22 am

    Thanks, Shannon! πŸ™‚ Isn’t that quote awesome? I fell in love with it when I read it for the first time. Applicable to EVERY DAY!

Leave a Reply

