Skip to content

Oatmeal experiments, a hot run and BBQ survival

May 25, 2009

I enjoyed my apple spice oatmeal so much yesterday that I decided to try it again for breakfast this morning, only with a pear instead and 1 tbsp of reduced-fat peanut butter for 343 calories. Delicious! I don’t know why I never took the time to realize oatmeal’s versatility before. I’ll have to brainstorm some other ingredients to mix in. (Do you have a favorite oatmeal mix? Let me know!)

Despite all my other plans today, I really made an effort to stick to my routine AND my workout goal this week. I ended up running 3.3 miles (well… more of a run/walk combo, anyway. It was ridiculously hot out there!) in a little over 48 minutes, burning 543 calories. I’m pretty pleased with those numbers.

After a nice COLD shower, I’ll be off for the rest of the afternoon to enjoy a Blues Festival at Centennial Park! I hope to have some good pictures to share in my next entry.

Oh, I almost forgot! For those who missed it – check out Hungry Girl’s 2009 BBQ Survival Guide. Lots of tips, tricks and recipes perfect for Memorial Day cookouts in there. Happy Memorial Day!

sig

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Blee permalink
    May 26, 2009 9:13 am

    Oatmeal really is a wonder food; http://www.katheats.com has a whole section of her site devoted to it. Hehe. You can put all sorts of yummies in oatmeal, and it’s very filling!

    I give you 3 kudos!

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 26, 2009 9:21 am

    Shanks! I love KathEats.com – and actually, that’s where I got the idea of the peanut butter.

    Even though my peanut butter was of the “reduced-fat” variety, it still has 190 calories per serving which is ridiculous, in my opinion. I haven’t tried Almond Butter (I’ve heard mixed reviews) but I really want to try Better N’ Peanut Butter (http://www.betternpeanutbutter.com) which HG raves about. To be continued!

  3. upinthecosmos permalink
    May 26, 2009 3:21 pm

    I like bananas & peanutbutter or bananas & honey. I haven’t eaten oatmeal in a while though, I really need to eat it more often.

  4. Amanda permalink*
    May 26, 2009 3:30 pm

    I like it honestly because it’s one of the healthier things you can eat that’s dirt cheap to buy. I usually get a huge canister and eat on it for a month! I’m a huge fan of peanut butter & bananas together, but haven’t tried bananas in my oatmeal yet… good call!

Leave a Reply

