Skip to content

Recipe Tuesday: grillin’ issue

May 26, 2009

Now that I can cook out again, I am ALL about it. Check out this great lunch I had, courtesy of my grill: Two romaine dogs, potato fries, and a shrimp salsa salad!

Ingredients:

  • 1 potato
  • 2 Oscar Meyer 98% fat free hot dogs
  • light mayo (or other condiment like ketchup or mustard)
  • 5 large shrimp
  • 4 romaine leaves, 2 shredded
  • 1 tbsp salsa
  • 1 tbsp sliced black olives (optional)

romaine hotdogsDirections:

Wash and cut the potato in wedges. Lay skin side down on a lightly greased baking sheet and sprinkle with salt & pepper. Bake them at 375 for 45 minutes. While they’re baking, skewer the shrimp and grill those with the hot dogs. Spread your condiment of choice on two of the (washed) romaine leaves. When the shrimp and hot dogs are cooked to your preference, plate the hot dogs inside the romaine leaves and the shrimp on top of the shredded romaine. Top the salad with a few sliced olives and 1-2 tbsp of salsa. Wrap your romaine dogs and stick a toothpick in the center to hold them closed. When your potatoes are done, add them to the plate, as well.

Ridiculously huge and filling… and coming in at approximately 350 calories total. I recommend eating this outside on your patio so you can soak up some rays while listening to the trees rustling and the birds chirping.

Vitamin D + the sounds of nature really do aΒ  lot of good for one’s body and mind. πŸ™‚

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. upinthecosmos permalink
    May 26, 2009 11:38 pm

    The hot dogs in the romaine leaves makes me think of those cabbage baby pictures by Anne Gedes…. LOL! Sounds good though. I’m not a seafood fan but I may try the rest of that sometime!

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 26, 2009 11:57 pm

    LOL! That is too funny!

    Don’t get me wrong… I LOVE bread, but I came up with the idea one day when I didn’t have any on hand and I realized I was saving quite a few calories (plus adding some crunch) by making the swap.

    The salad would be good without the shrimp, in my opinion. If you wanted to make it a main entree you could add in a little more salsa with some grilled chicken, black beans and corn. That would be good, too!

Leave a Reply

