Skip to content

The grill of victory

May 26, 2009

To make up for my lack of pictures yesterday…

ducklings parthenon

With the exception of a few showers here and there, we had wonderful weather for Memorial Day. My friend Derrick and I decided to get outside and enjoy it in Centennial Park where they were hosting a Blues Festival.

bluesfest

There was a much bigger crowd than I expected, but I loved it – everyone sitting on blankets, grilling hot dogs and hamburgers, watching their kids throw frisbees and footballs while listening to some great music. That’s my idea of a fun, relaxing afternoon!

IMG_1497 (Medium) IMG_1498 (Medium)

Though, the more we walked around and the more grilled foods I smelled in the air, there was really no satisfying my obsession with cooking out. I’ve been feeling it building up for a few days and for those of you following me on Facebook, you know how bummed I’ve been about the death of my grill. If there was anytime to have a cookout, it would’ve been this weekend. Derrick must’ve gotten tired of my whining, for about an hour later I had a brand new tank of propane and a clean, working grill!

(Pfft. I have no idea what was wrong with it in the first place. That’s man-stuff. ;))

tikitorches kabobs

The perfect night for tiki torches and grilled kabobs… yum!

For dinner, we used 10 large shrimp and 4 chicken tenderloins which I sliced into skewer-able sections. I also chopped 1/2 green bell pepper and 1/2 of a red onion (both leftover from the pizza and scrambled egg whites previously posted). I marinated the shrimp and half the chicken pieces with Mrs. Dash Zesty Garlic Herb 10-Minute Marinade. The other half of the chicken I sprinkled with garlic powder and pepper. While I grilled the kabobs, I baked two unwrapped potatoes in my toaster oven at 400 degrees for over an hour. Great day, great dinner!

Now that I have my grill working again… what are your favorite grilling recipes?

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. upinthecosmos permalink
    May 26, 2009 3:19 pm

    Mmmmm, your kabobs look much nicer than mine did! I hope they were as tastey as they look;-)

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 26, 2009 3:28 pm

    OMG, they were DELICIOUS. Probably even more so because I had been craving them ever since you cooked yours! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

