Skip to content

Rain, rain go away

May 27, 2009

It is true what they say. If you don’t like the weather in Nashville… wait 5 minutes.

IMG_0336

I remember waking up this morning to sunshine pouring in my windows and thinking “I sure am glad it’s a running day!” After two pieces of buttered toast (Healthy Life 100% Wheat Bread at 35 calories a slice and 1 tbsp. I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter), a glass of water and about an hour later, I had my running shoes on and I was in the car heading to the lake for a run on the greenway. About halfway there, the sky turned dark and the bottom fell out. I sighed, turned around and came home.

I thought about heading to the church behind my house that has a pretty nice family life center with a track. It’s only $5 for a day pass, but my heart wasn’t in it. There’s something about running on treadmills or in circles on a small indoor track that makes me feel like a hamster on a wheel. Since I work at home, one of the highlights of my day is getting outside to breathe some fresh air and treat my eyes to the colors of Spring.

I decided I’d rather just try out a workout video on Netflix. I’ve triedΒ  several of the Crunch workouts before and have liked them in the past so I settled on CardioSculpt today (light on the cardio – don’t let the name fool you). I give it 2.25 stars. I broke a tiny sweat, which is better than nothing but only burned 193 calories after 30 minutes according to my HRM. I will say, there were a few strength training exercises on the video which I actually really liked (and may incorporate in my future routines!), but all in all, a little disappointing. Depending on how my workload goes this afternoon, I may try to fit in a run around the neighborhood for a quick cardio boost later on.

What’s on the menu?

chickennoodlesoupA semi-boring lunch, but perfect for the dreary day: 1 can of Campbell’s Select Harvest Chicken with Egg Noodles Soup with 2 servings of Saltines for a 300-calorie meal.

For dinner, I’m thinking Arby’s! Arby’s is offering free items on Wednesday’s all Summer long… you just need to be careful which items you cash in on. Today at participating locations, you can get a free regular roast beef sandwich (320 calories*) with the purchase of a soft drink. Being originally from Atlanta and a die-hard Coke fan, I wasn’t thrilled with their Pepsi soft drink options… so when I get there I’m going to ask if the offer is still good with the purchase of one of the new Diet Blackberry Iced FruitTeas (0 calories!). I have potatoes at home that I can cut up and bake (like the fries I made yesterday) and that will round out dinner at approximately 480 calories.

*Nutritional information includes the sesame bun, but excludes condiments. Horsey sauce is 62 calories a serving, while Arby’s sauce is only 15 calories a serving. Adding these would bring the sandwich to 397 calories.

Happy Hump Day! πŸ˜‰

sig

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 6:22 pm

    The weather does the same thing here in TX—you have my sympathies that the whims of the weather gods messed up your exercise plans!

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 27, 2009 10:31 pm

    Oh, thank you, Sophy! Hehe, sometimes rain makes me whiny. πŸ˜‰

    Glad you could stop by. Come back again soon!

Trackbacks

  1. A review and hidden motivation « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

