Skip to content

Meal recount with a side of restaurant switch-a-roo

May 28, 2009

photoAt the risk of sounding weird, I realized that I met one of my goals this week by trying a new recipe for breakfast: Tomato & Basil Oatmeal.

To be fair, I should explain that I will be in Atlanta all next week so I’m trying to use up the perishables in my kitchen. Also, I mostly prefer savory over sweet so the thought of having 1/2 cup of oats, cutting up a roma tomato and adding in some chopped basil along with a little salt and pepper sounded really appealing to me this morning. I will probably make this again, but I’ll definitely go lighter on the basil next time.

For a quick lunch, I had 2 cups chopped romaine lettuce, about 1/4 cup of shredded carrots, 2 chopped chicken tenderloins (that I’d cooked on the grill a few days ago), 10 shrimp (which I’d heated up with the chicken), and 2 tbsp of Kraft Light Zesty Italian Dressing. Again, trying to use up some ingredients before my trip turned into a successful meal.

At 7:30, I had a dinner meeting planned at Panera and had taken some time to plan out my meal selection and jot down the nutritional info in my journal ahead of time. I was ready to go when I received a last minute email, changing the location to Logan’s Roadhouse – a restaurant that doesn’t disclose their nutritional information online. A little nervous at first, I ended up looking at this as a test to make wise-decisions on the fly.

How’d I do? I passed with flying colors if I do say so myself! Even though they refilled both of the peanut buckets sitting in front of me, I didn’t eat one the whole night (it’s the first one that always leads to 20 more, so that ONE is very important). Instead of my beloved Roadhouse Teas, I treated myself to a Diet Coke (my first soda in a few days since I don’t keep any at the house). The server forgot to bring our table their famous buttery rolls, and I thanked God for small favors!

For dinner, I ordered the Logan’s Grilled Chicken with steamed broccoli and a house salad. I ordered Italian Dressing on the side for the salad and lightly dipped my lettuce into the dressing cup instead of drizzling it on top.Β  It came with two chicken breasts on top of a bed of rice. I ate one chicken breast, a few bites of rice and half the broccoli. I had the other half boxed up and patted myself on the back all the way home.

Have you taken the time to pat yourself on the back this week? What is one accomplishment you’re especially proud of?

sig

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 12:34 pm

    I think your oatmeal, tomato and basil dish was very clever and inventive, Amanda! After all, tomato and basil go beautifully with pasta, rice or polenta, so why not oats? πŸ™‚ I find that sometimes having a savory dish instead of sweet keeps cravings away too.

    And what excellent choices you made, and wonderful willpower you demonstrated at the restaurant! Good for you!

    As for an accomplishment I’m proud of, right now I’d have to say it’s increasing my exercise. Lots of walking is making a positive difference in my life!

    –Susan

  2. Amanda permalink*
    May 29, 2009 2:24 pm

    Thanks, Susan. πŸ™‚

    Way to go on increasing your exercise! It’s amazing what adding a few extra steps in your day can do for your body, mind and soul. You have every right to be proud!

    Swing back by to visit again soon!

  3. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:28 pm

    Every time I visit your blog I just want to start cooking. Way to go on keeping everthing in check! Every little thing counts and then all of a sudden wahla, you naturally just make better choices out of habit. I cannot until my habits are good habits instead of bad. As far as pat myself on the back. I would have to say yesterday when I was at the store. I was stressed and stood there staring at the candy bars trying to decide which one I needed to take my stress away. I realized I didn’t want any and I could deal with it chocolate free! So pat, pat for me πŸ™‚
    Always love stopping by your blog!
    XO
    Shannon

  4. Amanda permalink*
    May 31, 2009 12:03 am

    Thanks, Shannon! You ROCK!

    As a girl who used to (and sometimes still fights the urge!) find comfort in food, I think you walking away from the chocolate aisle without a purchase is a GREAT accomplishment! That pat on the back was well-deserved. πŸ™‚

  5. May 31, 2009 12:11 am

    Love your creative use of your perishables. I love finding new ways to spice up leftovers.
    I’m with you on the rolls at the restaurant, I don’t think I could have stopped myself from eating one (or two, or three).

    I was in the same boat as Shannon from the comment a couple above, staring at the candy bars the other day. As I looked for my favorite and couldn’t find it (thankfully), I wondered what to have instead, and also decided I didn’t want any after all. So, I guess that’s half a pat on the back (because if they had Whatchamacallits, I’d have gotten one). πŸ™‚

  6. Amanda permalink*
    May 31, 2009 1:20 am

    Hey, a half-pat is better than none. πŸ˜‰ Hehe!

    Thanks for swinging by!

Leave a Reply

