Skip to content

Living well in the ATL: pt. one

June 2, 2009

I made it! I had perfect weather to drive in and the only traffic I hit was in the downtown area (typical). 

When I pulled into town, I met both my parents and realized how famished I was from only eating oatmeal, my sparkling peach slushie, and 100-calorie pack wheat thins all day. We decided to eat at our local favorite: Downtown Grille. I ordered a side salad with Ginger dressing (not shown – but so good). I removed the croutons and kept the dressing on the side. It came with a foccacia roll that smelled too delicious not to try. I sliced it open and ate half of it.

For my entree, I was craving veggies so I ordered the Vegetable Plate which came with four selections. My choices: black-eyed peas, green beans, collard greens and corn. It came with cornbread, too, and I washed it all down with an unsweet tea. (The salad you see in the back is my mom’s Roasted Vegetable salad with grilled eggplant and zucchini – delish!) I finished off the collards and the corn and ate half of everything else.
 
One of my favorite parts about being home and close to my family is talking over coffee. We are BIG coffee drinkers. I think I started drinking coffee in 3rd or 4th grade! There was (and still is) always a pot brewing at my parents’ house. Yes, even at 3 o’clock in the afternoon. Yes, even in the Summer.

After dinner, we drove to my grandparents’ and took our mugs outside on their beautiful porch for some evening conversation. By the time I got home, I was exhausted from the drive and had a great night’s sleep.

I got an early start this morning at 7am (6am Nashville time!). I took my breakfast outside to enjoy the perfect weather. My parents have always had reasonable diets but ever since I started my journey to living well, I think they’ve tried even harder to make health-conscious decisions. Their stocked groceries did not disappoint: one 100-calorie Thomas English Muffin, toasted with one wedge of Light Laughing Cow Swiss cheese (35 cals), a light fat-free Activia Peach yogurt (70 cals) and a mug of (what else?) coffee (~3 cals). 207 calories. Not too shabby.

After running a few errands and having the house to myself for a few hours, I decided to take advantage of the solitude (and their On Demand channels) to try out Exercise TV. For those of you without the awesomeness that is On Demand – Exercise TV gives you access to a bunch of workout videos whenever you want! I promptly donned my workout gear and scrolled through. Um… did that just say CARDIOKE?! Yes, friends. It definitely did. Billy Blanks, Jr. created a series of workouts where you combine cardio exercises with (one of my favorite guilty pleasures) karaoke… how could I resist? My review: it IS as cheesy as it sounds and it was too short to get a real intense workout (21 mins and 186 cals burned according to my HRM), but it was fun. I had a good time laughing at how silly I felt jumping around and singing “Dontcha wish your girlfriend was hot like me?” Ha! I wound down with a short yoga routine which made me feel less like a dork. 🙂

I cannot get enough of yoga. Stretching really raises your body awareness and it’s amazing how rejuvenated and open you feel afterward. Now, almost noon and unsure of my lunch plans with my mom but starting to hear my tummy rumbling, I’m polishing off a water bottle and a stick of light 50-calorie string cheese.

So far so good on the goals! How is your week shaping up?

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 2:56 pm

    I didn’t know the ATL was your hometown! Welcome back! Nice enough weather for ya?!? It just got hot! I’ve never been to the Downtown Grille… looks like good ol’ southern cookin’ to me!

    And CARDIOKE! I must check out my on demand STAT! ha ha ha

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 3, 2009 3:05 pm

      Yes! You’re from here too? My parents live in Peachtree City more specifically and Downtown Grille is in Tyrone but definitely worth checking out if you venture South out of the city. 🙂

      Also, yes – check out Cardioke when you need a good laugh… Hehe!

Leave a Reply

