Skip to content

Travel highlights, blasted waffle fries, and a lifestyle to live well

June 6, 2009
Congratulations Class of 2009!

Congratulations Class of 2009!

No matter how “good” I try to be, I always tend to throw any sort of nutrition out the window when traveling. I packed some light string cheese and fruit yesterday for my drive home, but about halfway through my trip I was falling asleep, feeling hungry and there was a Chick-fil-A. I ordered a Chargrilled Chicken Sandwich which would’ve been fine except the words “…and an order of Waffle Fries” escaped my lips before I realized what I’d said. Of course, I’m a sucker for CFA waffle fries and devoured the entire thing. Grr.

On the bright side, it was one day out of seven that I deviated from my plan. My trip was amazing and overall I’m pleased at how I succeeded at living well as opposed to treating this like a vacation.

Highlights from my time in Atlanta:

  • Spending time with my family and seeing my cousin graduate!
  • Having my pants altered down 3 sizes.
  • Being fitted at Soma and hearing the employee refer to me as “skinny.”
  • Returning to my alma mater after 10 years and feeling beautiful and confident.

As great as my trip was, I’m happy to be home and looking forward to getting back in the swing of things.

I did something today which was really no big deal at the time, but it made me stop and realize how much my life has transformed over the past eight months. I had planned to meet my friend, Kerri, for coffee this morning and instead of driving 15 minutes to the nearest Starbucks, I walked. It took me 15 minutes longer (which I should’ve accounted for instead of being 15 minutes late – sorry Kerri!) but it made me feel awesome, knowing that not only was I doing something good for myself but I was saving money by saving gas – all a part of living well!

Note to self: take picture BEFORE injesting.

Note to self: take picture BEFORE injesting.

For breakfast, I ordered a grande iced coffee with skim milk (110 cals) and decided I’d finally try the Perfect Oatmeal I’d been hearing so much about. Honestly, it’s just instant oatmeal, so it’s nothing too special but the fact that Starbucks (aka home of delicious 400+ calorie pastries) is even offering something like this is pretty great. Plus, the oatmeal with the iced coffee was less than $5 together, which my wallet thanked me for.

The Perfect Oatmeal has 140 calories and they give you the option of toppings: brown sugar, fruit, and/or nuts. Each comes in an individual package. I skipped the brown sugar, but grabbed the other two and noticed the nutritional info on the back – both carried 100 calories. I emptied the entire fruit package and 1/2 of the nuts, making my Perfect Oatmeal 290 calories and my entire breakfast 400 calories. Coupled with my 3-mile walk and some much needed friend-time, my morning was the perfect start to a beautiful weekend.

What little changes have you made in order to live well? What are some things you can alter to continue living well in the future?

Wishing you all the beautiful weather we have here this weekend,

sig

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

