Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: the overweight issue

June 7, 2009
tags: ,

photo2Week 3 down! Today’s weigh-in showed a 1.2 lb loss for the week. This news brings me to a day for which I have waited a long time. It is with much excitement that I write these words today: I’m overweight!

When I first started my journey to better health and joined SparkPeople in October 2008, I was prompted to set goals for myself and write about them. I really hadn’t given them much thought. I knew I wanted to lose weight and get healthy, but I also knew I needed to make some detailed goals that were beyond “being skinny.” Running a 5K was one. Attaining a healthy Body Mass Index (BMI) number was another.

If you poll a group of overweight people, I think the number one offensive word is obese. The problem is, if your BMI is 30 or greater, that’s technically what you are. On November 2, 2008, my BMI was 40.1 and that was a real wake-up call for me. Today, my BMI is 29.9 which has pushed me just out of the obesity range into being overweight. I’ll take it!

Goals for Week #4:

  • Really strive for superstar workouts this week.
  • Try something new this week; accomplish something I’ve never done.

Cheers to being overweight!

sig

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 10:10 am

    Hooray hooray for achieving that milestone!! I knew exactly what you meant when I saw your Tweet. Congratulations!!!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 7, 2009 10:28 am

      Hehe, thank you!! I was very excited to see the scale this morning. πŸ™‚

  2. June 8, 2009 4:07 pm

    Great job on being “overweight” can’t wait until I’m there too. Not only do I hate the word “obese”, it’s worse when it get high enough to be called “morbidly obese.” Could there be a more horrible way to be described?

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 8, 2009 5:12 pm

      Ugh, I know! As if having a weight issue doesn’t come with enough emotional baggage…

Leave a Reply

