Skip to content

It’s the little things

June 8, 2009

It’s June 8 and I’m just now remembering to flip my calendar over from May. When I finally did, I read this quote on the header:

“You’ve got to think about the ‘big things’ while you are doing the small things, so that all the small things go in the right direction.” – Alvin Toffler

Yesterday, I double posted my blog entry about moving into a new BMI range over on SparkPeople. I received a comment from a woman who said:

“I am at 37.7 and I so hate the word obese as well. It makes you almost feel you can’t and never will get it off. Thanks for showing the little things really do mean a lot.”

And that’s really what it all comes down to: the little things. Why drive when you can walk? Why order fries when you can order vegetables? Why take the elevator when you can take the stairs? Food for thought.

photoI still haven’t done any heavy-duty grocery shopping since I came back from my trip, so this morning’s breakfast was more of a challenge to find what I could and “make do.”

1 Kashi Peanut Peanut Butter Chewy Granola Bar (140 cals) and a Strawberry Lemonade slushie: 8 strawberries and about 1.5 cups of Crystal Light Pink Lemonade (~48 cals). I tossed in a few ice cubes, blended, and enjoyed. Nothing says summertime to me quite like strawberries and lemonade. πŸ™‚

I ended up finishing that and needing a snack a little later so I toasted up some sandwich thins and spread 1tbsp I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter over the two halves (180 cals).

Today is a strength training day and I think I’m going to stick to the circuit workout I posted awhile back. I need to remember to send my Netflix movies back. The Biggest Loser Bootcamp video is at the top of my queue!

Don’t sweat the small stuff,

sig

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

