Skip to content

My great body, half-hearted run, and in-a-pinch menu

June 9, 2009

Yesterday, I ran across an old DVD I’d purchased several years back: Tony Horton’s Great Body Guaranteed. I have no idea where I bought this thing but I’m pretty sure it was ordered off one of those Saturday morning infomercials where I was couch-surfing, 60 lbs heavier, and looking for a quick fix. (Those before and after stories get me every time!) Nevertheless, I dusted off the case and popped in the disc.

The setup is very do-able. The DVD is split into Great Arms, Great Thighs, Great Buns, Great Abs, etc. and they do what they call “sectional progression” which focuses on one area at a time. Each section is divided into 4-6 moves for a total of 10 minutes and there’s a counter going in the bottom right part of the screen so you know exactly how long you’ll be constricting your abs in that painful position. πŸ˜‰

Yesterday I did the arms, abs, and thighs sections. My legs felt like jello afterwards and my arms are actually a little sore today. The abs section was pretty hard (ab workouts usually are, for me) but I feel great today. I’ll probably do this workout again… but only because I already own it.

This morning, I went for a run around the lake. Am I the only one who feels like they get out of running shape if they skip a few days? Whether it was my endurance or my inner drive, my heart was just not in it today. I put in a little over 2 miles in 30 minutes and called it a day. 230 cals burned…Β  meh. What matters is that I got out there and did something, right?

fishveggiesWhat’s on the menu?

It’s becomingΒ  more and more evident that I need to do some power grocery shopping, stat. No picture worthy meals so far today. Breakfast: two sandwich thin halves (100 cals) toasted with 1tbsp I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter (80 cals).

After my run, I drank a couple glasses of water and had a Kashi Peanut Peanut Butter Chewy Granola Bar (140 cals).

For lunch, I’m envisioning some Gorton’s Grilled Tilapia (80 cals for 1 fillet) with some Green Giant veggies (90 cals for the whole box). With water, of course. Gotta get my hydrate on!

For dinner, there was some talk of going to TGIFriday’s since we have a Buy One, Get One Free coupon.

Oh! And here. Now you have one, too. πŸ™‚

sig

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

