Skip to content

Quick update for a day gone by too quick

June 10, 2009

photoToday was a rest day and a good thing, too! I had a lot of illustrating work to do and didn’t even have a chance to fit yoga in. It’s true what they say – you don’t realize how much you miss something till it’s gone. I’m thinking some yoga after an afternoon run tomorrow will be a good way to wind down.

What’s on the menu?

I decided to get my work on at Starbucks this morning and ordered up another Perfect Oatmeal and grande iced coffee with non-fat milk. You all will be happy to know that I took a picture of something other than the empty containers this time! Also, this time I only used 1/2 the dried fruit and 1/2 the nuts, making the breakfast 350 calories total.

(Additional sidenote: Part of me wants it to turn cold again so I can order up a hot coffee. Apparently, I slurp cold drinks down waaay too fast. Who knew?)

chipsFor lunch, I started Operation: Healthy Picnic in preparation for this weekend with a homemade potato chip experiment. I peeled a small potato (~100 cals) and sprinkled garlic salt and paprika on them, then microwaved for 5 minutes. They tasted pretty good, but next time I’m going to lay them out in a single layer on a baking sheet and put them in the OVEN for 7 minutes. I think they’ll be much better that way. Later on, I heated up a Bruchetta Boca Burger in between to sandwich thin halves, 1tbsp of light mayo, and some sauteed onion slices (228 cals).

For dinner, I had a coupon for an Oscar Meyer Deli Creations sandwich. I ended up choosing the Tuscan-Style Chicken Foccacia sandwich for 390 calories. I admit 390 cals is a lot for a sandwich, but it made a good meal on the run since I was on my way out the door to go bowling with friends. It was pretty filling and will definitely hold me over so I don’t fall into the trap of greasy pizza or tasteless fries at the bowling alley.

Till tomorrow!
sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Blee permalink
    June 12, 2009 12:18 pm

    No way! Iced coffee with soy milk (plus toffee nut flavoring) + Perfect Oatmeal with brown sugar is my typical breakfast on the way to work! WOO HOO!

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 12, 2009 3:53 pm

      Good choice! The iced coffee with soy milk is a little more than with nonfat milk but not by much! (A grande with soy has 120 cals.) Flavored syrup adds about 20 cals & 5g of sugar per pump – so watch your barista to make sure they don’t go crazy!

      The brown sugar for the oatmeal is only 50 cals… a pretty good breakfast on the go, in my opinion! And you can’t beat the price. I don’t know about NYC, but here in Nashville I got both for under $5. That’s less than a typical McDonald’s breakfast at less than half the calories!

Leave a Reply

