Skip to content

Starbucks, Panera, and tsunamis… oh my!

June 11, 2009

coffeeI have a confession to make. I’ve been a real Starbucks junkie lately. I mean, that’s probably a good thing considering this usually means I’m setting meetings or getting work done… but still. This morning I had an early morning meeting and since I hate eating when discussing business or presenting new ideas, I munched on my last Kashi Peanut Peanut Butter Chewy Granola Bar (140 cals) at home and ordered up a hot, venti nonfat latte (170 cals) upon arriving at the ‘Bucks.

I decided to get there a little early so I could have some time to settle in and get a head start on my caffeine jolt and I’m really glad I did. I hadn’t been there 15 minutes when the sky turned an ominous black and the bottom fell out of the sky. The trees were blowing all over the place and rain started pounding the roof of Starbucks. Of course, just as I started to wonder if I should take cover in their window-free bathroom, the rain slowed to a sprinkle and the clouds parted. It is true what they say… if you don’t like the weather in Nashville, wait five minutes. πŸ˜‰

paneraSpeaking of meetings, today is one of those rare (but good!) days when I book two back to back. The second one was at Panera Bread – client’s choice. Lucky for me, Panera hosts their nutritional information online so I was able to order a half Mediterranean sandwich on Tomato Basil bread with a small fruit cup in my head (380 cals total) before I even got there. Can we discuss how delicious this sandwich is? “…Zesty sweet Peppadewβ„’ peppers, feta, cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, onions & cilantro hummus.” Nom nom nom.

Also, it’s worth mentioning in the spirit of confession that I drank THREE Diet Cokes last night at the bowling alley in an effort to keep my mouth busy and away from fatty grilled cheese sandwiches and french fries. I succeeded (yay!), but felt sick afterward drinking so much soda (boo!). I’m putting my foot down! It’s water or nothing for me today.

Finally, despite my busy day and all the rain throwing my running off-track (no pun intended), I’m determined to get some good heart-pumping cardio in today. I’m thinking Jillian Michaels’ Cardio Kickboxing might just do the trick!

How’s your day been?

sig

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dr. Jo permalink
    June 11, 2009 2:27 pm

    Love your post and the thought of you taking cover in Starbucks’ window-free bathroom brought a chuckle! Thanks for the smile….Dr. Jo

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 12, 2009 3:45 pm

      Hehe, thanks! It’s amazing the things that go through your mind when you’re in fight or flight mode. I had never really thought about how many people I could safely fit into a Starbucks bathroom, but reasoned we could get at least ten inside without gasping for air. πŸ˜‰

  2. Blee permalink
    June 12, 2009 12:20 pm

    Do you like her cardio kickboxing DVD?? I’ve been in the market for a good cardio disc for mornings like today, when I woke up and it was rainy and gross out and I really didn’t want to walk to the gym. But I actually ended up going and was happy with myself. However, I’m always up for more DVD recs to add the collection!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 12, 2009 3:44 pm

      Funny you should ask that. I was going to link to her DVD online but it got horrible customer reviews. To be fair, the whole workout is only like 30 minutes and Jillian does really well with one-on-one training but not so much in group settings. She does this nervous giggling thing throughout the whole thing and is a little awkward. Having that said, I can understand where hardcore workout fiends are coming from with their bad reviews for the DVD.

      On the other hand, if you can move past that (which I can and do) I think it’s a pretty good workout when you’re running short on time. I probably wouldn’t BUY it, but I would definitely rent it — or put it in your Netflix queue! And actually, it’s currently available on Netflix Watch Instantly feature… just do a search for the title.

      Let me know what you think if you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

