Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: the good, the bad, and the picnics

June 14, 2009

My best friend and I watched Sex and the City when it was airing on HBO. We loved it because – yes, some of it is extravagant and “out there” but – a lot of it candidly mirrors real life. There’s one episode in particular which we continue to cite today. Sarah Jessica Parker’s character notes that out of a great apartment, a great job, and a great boyfriend – women always have two of those things, but rarely (never?) all three. I specifically remembered that episode this week.

I was talking with a friend the other day and mentioned that I feel more like myself today then I have for the past five (and maybe longer!) years. And this past week was especially awesome! …In terms of work and my social life, that is. Even so, it always seems that out of great work, a great social life, and a great healthy routine… I can have two, but never all three.

Even though one of my goals for this week was to have “rockstar workouts”, I admit I fell short. In fact, most days this week exercise was flat out ignored. My subconscious made pathetic attempts at reasoning: “Bowling totally counts as exercise.” “Good for you parking extra far away from the grocery store entrance!” “Swimming is an acceptable swap for running.” No, no, no. I am down .4 lbs. this week, so I must’ve been doing something right… ha!

On the up-side, one of my New Years Resolutions for 2009 was to put myself out there more; be social, spend time with friends, and take advantage of living and I feel like I had good opportunity to do that this weekend. Which also happened to meet my second goal of trying something I’d never done before.

IMG_0483Friday night, the Nashville Symphony played a free concert in the park of Bicentennial Mall and we sat front row center with our picnic dinner. I enjoyed a smoked turkey sandwich: 1 Sandwich Thin (100 cals), 1 wedge Laughing Cow light swiss cheese (35 cals), 6 slices Mesquite-Smoked Deli Select turkey (50 cals), 2 tomato slices (~8 cals), romaine lettuce (~3 cals); 1 bag of homemade potato chips (~100 cals), a 100-calorie snack pack of chocolate covered pretzels, and my mock-tail of choice: 6 oz. of sparkling lemon-lime water (0 cals) and 2 oz. of Ocean Spray Diet Cranberry Juice (>5 cals)… totaling in the ballpark of 400 calories. Besides having a delicious dinner outdoors, I really enjoyed listening to the beautiful music and seeing the backdrop of the downtown city lights, the Capitol building and the Bicentennial Mall train.

IMG_0499Last night, we packed a picnic once again and met up at Centennial Park for dinner and dancing. Every week in the summer, they have a band that plays Big Band style music and a volunteer teaches a different style of dancing. Tonight, was the Rumba! We went with good intentions but underestimated the crowd size… so we didn’t actually dance, but the good times had listening to the music, eating, talking and people-watching certainly made up for that.

Goals for Week #5:

  • Be more diligent about tracking food. Everything counts.
  • Strive for balance between the three: friends, work, AND workouts.

What’re your goals for this week?

sig

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 2:39 pm

    Picnic and all looks like it was fun! The balance thing is HARD. Whenever one thing starts going really well or you devote time and effort to it other things suffer. Good luck figuring out how to have it all!

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 15, 2009 3:58 pm

      Yes! We had a blast at the picnics. πŸ™‚
      Balance IS hard. A lot harder than one would think… It’s going to be one of those one-day-at-a-time things, I think.

Trackbacks

  1. Baby steps toward balance « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

