Skip to content

Tea party for one

June 16, 2009

I’d never really taken the time to clip coupons in the past, but recently I’ve really gotten into checking out the coupon sites online. During my last grocery shopping trip, I had a BOGO coupon for Crystal Light Peach Tea and promptly put two containers in my cart. My friend who was shopping with me gave me the evil eye, knowing that my best friend of 16 years works with the Lipton brand. I had to email her right away to confess.

P1020637My best friend has been one of my biggest supporters in my journey to better health and was a big inspiration when I first started running. (She ran her first full marathon with Team In Training in Arizona earlier this year!) Today, she and I trade nutrition and exercise articles and even tips on how to curb our sweet teeth. πŸ™‚

Knowing that I’m always on the lookout for flavorful, low-cal foods and beverages, she arranged for a goodie box of Lipton products to be sent to me.

The Raspberry-Lime Revitalize To Go Iced Tea Mix was the first to catch my eye. I had just finished a quick run and an hour of yoga so the fruity, refreshing taste hit the spot! Not only that, but I compared the nutritional facts of the Revitalize Tea and the Crystal Light White Peach Tea. CL’s tea has 5 cals which is by no means a bad beverage choice, but Revitalize Tea scored a few extra points with me when I noticed it was calorie-free! Plus it’s packed with vitamins: 50% Vitamin C and 25% B6 and B12.

photo P1020638 photo(2)

Later on, I whipped up a pitcher of the Cold Brew iced tea… half of which is already gone. Living in the South all my life, I’m a big fan of iced tea and I LOVE how easy this tea is to make. But enough about advertising their delicious tea… here’s an even bigger reason why I’m a Lipton convert:

In 2007, Lipton announced a commitment to sustainably source all of its tea in teabags from Rainforest Alliance Certifiedβ„’ estates by 2015. To ensure its suppliers’ farming practices are sustainable, Lipton teamed up with the Rainforest Alliance. Farms that meet the standards for sustainability earn the Rainforest Alliance Certifiedβ„’ seal.

The first Lipton tea estate to earn the Rainforest Alliance Certifiedβ„’ stamp of approval was the company’s own tea estate in Kericho, Kenya. In addition to following strict guidelines for pest management, tree planting and use of renewable sources on this plantation, Lipton provides workers and their families with free housing, free early education for their children and health services (National Geographic, SustainabiliTEA).

Seriously, how cool is that? I love hearing about businesses that pave the way for others to live well!

sig

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 9:37 am

    Hi Amanda! I just want to thank you for including Lipton’s commitment with the Rainforest Alliance in your post! We’re thrilled about their decision and even more pleased that people are embracing Rainforest Alliance Certified products as ways to vote for conservation with their buying dollars. -Abby from the Rainforest Alliance

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 17, 2009 9:55 am

      Hi Abby — Thanks for stopping by!
      I wholeheartedly believe in the work you guys are doing and I think Lipton and the RA is a great pairing!

      Cheers,
      Amanda

  2. Flynn permalink
    June 17, 2009 11:53 am

    Awesome posting!! I’m glad you love the tea. Lipton is very proud of our sustainability initiatives and the work we’re doing with the Rainforest Alliance. So thank you for spreading the word!

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 17, 2009 12:41 pm

      As well you should be! Kudos on a job well done!!

      (And I really DO love the tea. So far the good, ol-fashioned Cold Brew is my favorite. Though I can’t wait to try the Island Mango & Peach White Tea pyramids!)

Trackbacks

  1. Tea party for one Β« Amanda Lives Well | Saving Money News
  2. Some kind of Wonderful « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

