Skip to content

A bum knee and the skinny on salads

June 18, 2009

I woke up this morning with an achy knee. My knees have always been fine when running so this is worrying/bumming me out a little. A friend suggested it was maybe the yoga I’ve been doing? Though, the only time it’s uncomfortable on my knees is when I’m sitting cross-legged. Who knows…

I was going to take a rest day today, but I have a lunch meeting and a celebrationΒ  dinner to attend and I was up .8lbs this morning (even though I swore to myself I was only going to weigh-in once a week). All these signs add up to a mandatory workout today. Bob Harper will be glad to know that I joined the ranks of his Boot Camp before I got ready for my lunch.

Speaking of… the lunch meeting was scheduled at a place called Jonathan’s Grille. Jonathan’s has a few locations in Nashville but isn’t anywhere as big of a chain as it would be to host nutritional information online. (Can’t this be mandatory for ALL restaurant establishments, already?) This place has kind of an upscale sports bar feel which means pizza, subs, and sliders… aka caloric overload! Thankfully, they do have a generous salad menu and when I saw the Heather’s Spring Salad, I decided on that.

Heather’s Spring Salad has mixed greens, dried cranberries, toasted pecans, feta cheese and grilled chicken. Out of their choices for salad dressing, I went with the Fat-free Raspberry Vinaigrette. Not bad, eh? I didn’t think so either until I started breaking it down and entering it in my food journal.

Not knowing exactly how big the salad would be (I ended upΒ  ordering the 1/2 portion for $2 cheaper), I estimated: 2 servings of mixed green salad (30 cals), 1/4 cup feta cheese (99 cals), 8 oz. grilled chicken (249 cals), 2 tbsp. Fat-free Raspberry Vinaigrette (~45 cals). At this point, we’re already up to 423 calories and I haven’t even added in the cranberries or pecans yet! 1/4 cup sweetened dried cranberries are in the ballpark of 100 extra calories and the 1/4 cup of toasted pecans are an additional 206! So, really… the Heather’s Spring Salad could potentially be over 700 calories, i.e., over HALF of my daily allotted calories in one meal. No thanks!

saladTo remedy this problem, I eliminated the pecans all together. I’m not crazy about them, anyway. I also went easy on the cranberries and used my dressing on the side for dipping instead of drizzling. That should bring the salad down to a much more manageable but still hefty 451 calories.

Moral of the story: just because it’s mixed in with lettuce and has “salad” attached to its name, doesn’t mean it’s always the healthiest option!

Striving to eat healthy and aiming to live well,

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties permalink
    June 18, 2009 3:16 pm

    Salads can be so decieving! I did the exact same thing. At least you were strong enough to not eat some of the bad stuff. I would have just ate the whole thing and thought shiz I better not do that again! LOL
    Hope the knee gets better soon πŸ™‚
    XO Shannon

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 18, 2009 3:24 pm

      Hey lady! Salads ARE deceiving and please don’t think I’m an angel all the time. πŸ˜‰

      There was one day I went to Chili’s and ordered their Quesadilla Explosion salad thinking “Oh, I’m being so good today!” No way, my friend. 1260 bleepity-bleep calories!! Thankfully I actually had some sense to get a to-go box for some of it. Ugh, lame.

Leave a Reply

