Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: the yo-yo issue

June 22, 2009

I finally got to catch up with my best friend yesterday morning. We live in different states and because of our schedules (and phone bills) we usually limit catch-up conversations to once a week on weekends. Today she asked how everything was going and, of course, my mind immediately landed on my wellness.

I weighed in yesterday and was 1lb down from last week… but I’m right back where I was the week before. I’ve been going back and forth between the same 3lbs. over and over again. I can’t seem to shake the cycle. Of course, knowing me as well as she does, she totally called me on the carpet. “Have you been kicking your workouts up a notch?” Sure, I could lie and say that I’ve been going the extra mile, but my workouts have not achieved stellar status as of late. I think it’s that whole balance thing I’ve been trying to accomplish.

I knew a plateau would be inevitable. I guess this is mine. It’s times like these where I have to recite my favorite Emerson quote, hug it, and let it go. This will only push me to try harder. I’ve come much too far to give up.

Otherwise, this weekend was the perfect way to usher in the summer season. Friday, my friends and I celebrated Summer Solstice on the “beach” (by “beach” I mean a man-made sand dump on Nashville’s biggest lake :)). Saturday was spent leisurely shopping and relaxing by the pool. And Sunday, I hosted a pool party in my neighborhood.

My Berry-Limoncello Sangria and Hungry Girl’s Dreamy Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge were a hit! …Aaaand since I’ve been slacking on my Recipe Tuesdays, I’ll go ahead and pass along the easiest party recipes ever:

Berry-Limoncello Sangria

  • 1 cup mixed berries (I used Dole’s frozen antioxident mix with blueberries, strawberries, blackberries and raspberries)
  • lemon zest of one lemon
  • 3oz. Crystal Light Pink Lemonade
  • 2oz. Limoncello (feel free to omit this and sub with more pink lemonade, if you want to skip the alcohol)
  • 750mL of Sprite Zero

Let the berries, pink lemonade, lemon zest and limoncello sit in a pitcher over night. Just before serving, pour in the Sprite and garnish with a lemon wedge… yum!

HG’s Dreamy Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

  • One 18.3-ounce box Betty Crocker Fudge Brownies, Traditional Chewy Brownie Mix (The Betty Crocker brownie mix used in this recipe is probably the best since it’s super-low in fat and contains fiber. You can always swap it for your fave brownie mix, but nutritional info may vary.)
  • 2 cups pure pumpkin (the regular sized can turns out to be 1.75 cups… that works, too!)
  • 2 tbsp reduced-fat peanut butter, at room temperature

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and combine pumpkin with the brownie mix in a large bowl and stir until smooth (batter will be very thick, but don’t add anything else!). Spray a square baking pan (9″x9″ works best – tho I used an 8″x8″ pan and they came out delicious!) with nonstick spray and pour in the mixture. Spoon peanut butter on top and use a knife to swirl it around the top of the batter. Bake in the oven for 35 minutes. (The batter will remain very thick and fudgy, and it should look undercooked.) Allow to cool then cover pan with foil and place pan in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Cut into 36 squares. Want to know the best part? These are only 65 calories a square!

Sidenote: If you’re worried about how the diet-friendly snacks will go over at your soiree, have no fear. I had five burly men in my house and none of them had anything bad to say. In fact, they didn’t say anything at all because their mouths were busy cleaning the plate! πŸ˜‰

Goals for Week #6 (I’m continuing my goals from last week):

  • Be more diligent about tracking food. Everything counts.
  • Strive for balance between the three: friends, work, AND workouts.

Happy Summer!

sig

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cld permalink
    July 15, 2009 9:39 pm

    i’m having trouble finding the canned pumpkin….where did you find it?

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 15, 2009 11:32 pm

      I got mine at Publix. On my last visit they had the brownie mix for $1.00 so I bought a box and when I went to find the pumpkin they only had one can left on the shelf. A Publix employee told me that they stock canned pumpkin during the holidays but then they let it run out. I have a hard time believing I got the very last can, but maybe I did! I imagine if anything, they’ll restock it in September for Halloween. Good luck! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly wrap-up: the family fun edition « Amanda Lives Well
  2. Weekly wrap-up: Sunday nights and Monday mornings « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

