Skip to content

A porcupine in my froat

June 24, 2009

Today started out great! I got up and made oatmeal with strawberries, cinnamon & splenda, put in a good strength-training workout, met deadlines, and even managed to get a little sun outside. Everything was going fine till around 3pm this afternoon when it happened. I got a random sore throat.

When I had sore throats as a kid, I used to tell my mom that there was a “porcupine in my froat.” When I’m feeling under the weather, I want nothing more to lie around and have people take care of me… ha! Of course, living on my own and being well on my way to 29 has made me learn a little lesson called ‘suck it up and deal.’ And by deal, I mean take a Benadryl at 8:30pm and be in bed by 9pm. Here’s hoping that works!

What’s on the menu?

Breakfast: Delicious oatmeal that I’ll definitely be making again tomorrow since I bought two cartons of strawberries last weekend… Aldi had them on sale for 99 cents a piece! 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats, 4 sliced strawberries, and a sprinkling of cinnamon and splenda. (~172 calories)

Lunch: Leftovers! Mediterranean Chicken with Rosemary Orzo is even better the next day, in my opinion. (364 cals)

Snacks: At some point throughout the day I had a small, sliced apple with reduced-fat peanut butter, an orange, and a serving of saltines.

For dinner, I went to Arby’s to cash in on their free roast beef sandwich with the purchase of a beverage (I chose the diet Blackberry FruiTea). I got it to go and sliced and pan fried a baked potato when I got home. (480 cals)

Regardless of the sore throat, I’ve scheduled tomorrow as a running day. I’m really hoping that I can push past whatever this is and be back on my merry way.

Heading to bed, g’night!

sig

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

