Skip to content

Bad habits vs. good ones

June 25, 2009

My throat is still a little scratchy today, but if I had to compare today and yesterday, I’d say I’m on the up and up. The Benadryl last night did me some good and I felt like a new person after 10 hours of sleep.

I woke up and steeped some hot Lipton Island Mango & Peach White Tea and had another bowl of old-fashioned oats with strawberries, cinnamon & Splenda. (SO good.) Afterward, I started on some work and hemmed and hawed around the age old question: to exercise or not to exercise. The “woe is me” side really got a beating from my inner skinny girl today. She won, hands down and I pacified her by putting in a full 3-mile workout.

I’m not sure if it was the time (I ran a lot later today than I normally do), the heat, or not being at 100%… maybe a combination of all three, but I actually added a minute and some change to Tuesday’s time. I walked a lot more than I did on Tuesday, but I was still very proud of myself for getting out there and doing it in the first place and very happy to see 462 calories burned on my HRM.

On my way home, I happened to notice an old IHOP that the “old Amanda” used to frequent. It had almost become a weekend ritual and the late-night go-to place after a night out with friends. I always ordered the country omelette: an omelette stuffed with sausage, cheddar cheese, and hashbrowns and topped with more cheese and sour cream (~1343 cals) with a short stack of pancakes on the side (~360 cals)… with butter & blueberry syrup (~310 cals). A lot of times I’d only eat half, but more times than not, I’d eat the whole thing. I got sick thinking about that while sitting at the traffic light. No wonder I’d gained so much weight.

But then, I focused on how much can change in a year… and really, how much I’ve changed since November. Not only physically, but emotionally. I’ve dropped bad habits and developed good ones. On top of everything though, I’m learning to love myself. That, to me, is the most important.

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore is not an act but a habit.”

-Aristotle

In your current lifestyle, what habits are you forming?

sig

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 1:25 pm

    I really can relate to this post today as I am struggling to find the motivation for a workout while I get through my first, and hopefully last, cold of the season. I also really liked what you had to say about how you used to eat vs. how you eat now. I agree that making healthy changes in your life boils down to loving yourself more. Great blog. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

