Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: I’m walkin’ on sunshine

June 28, 2009

Rainbow woman

Yes! I knew I’d be happy with my weigh-in today, but I was extra pleased when I saw that all my hard work and determination resulted in a 3.8lb loss this week! It’s amazing what a little extra effort can do. My next mini-goal is only a mere 7.4lbs away. If I stay on-track I could meet it by the end of July and be down to my high school weight.

I have some work to catch-up on today and my legs are aching quite a bit (thank you, pigeon-fold yoga stretch) so I’m calling in a free day to rest and reflect. …And look forward! There are so many fun things in store this week! I’m wrapping up several design projects, my parents are coming to visit on Thursday, my mom’s birthday celebration is Friday and my next 5K is Saturday.

Goals for Week #7:

  • Give 110% in workouts this week. With all the celebrating this coming weekend, expect to spend more calories and make yourself earn them.
  • Be in the moment with family. Enjoy life!

Carpe diem!

sig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 9:54 am

    Way to go Amanda! 3.8! That is so good. You are more inspiring than you will ever know. I had a rough week and this morning reading your post makes me want to do better this coming week. Keep it up, keep walkingon sunshine and have a fabulous day!
    XO

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 28, 2009 11:24 am

      Aw, thanks Shannon! I’m sorry you had a rough week.

      The good thing about the past though… is that it’s in the past! I’m looking forward to rocking this coming week with you and the rest of my awesome tweeps! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Fran permalink
    June 28, 2009 2:12 pm

    Hai Amanda,

    Thanks for visiting my blog, I’ve linked you on my blog so I can follow you from now.

    What a great result you’ve had this week. Congratulations!

    You’re running a 5K run this week? How long ago did you start running?
    And more important: do you like it?

    Greetings, Fran

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 28, 2009 2:21 pm

      Hi Fran – thanks for swinging by!

      I started running in November 2008. I started off doing the Couch-to-5K walking program just to get used to moving again. After that, I did the Couch-to-5K program again but this time focused on running and building endurance. In my opinion, the key to it (like everything in exercise) is to start small and build up. Too much too soon could result in injury or worse… burn out! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I never thought I’d say this, but I LOVE running. …Not so much the actual act, but the way I feel afterward makes all the sweat worth it!

      What about you? I noticed on your blog you’ve started running, too! What do you think so far??

  3. Flynn permalink
    June 28, 2009 5:24 pm

    Whoa!!! That’s awesome! Rock on, my friend.

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 28, 2009 5:38 pm

      Thanks!! You were my motivation for calling me on the carpet. Thanks for kicking my butt into gear!

  4. Dr. Jo permalink
    June 28, 2009 7:40 pm

    Congrats on a very successful week! Looking forward to this Saturday’s 5K with you.

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 29, 2009 12:05 am

      Me too! Can’t wait!!

  5. Fran permalink
    June 28, 2009 11:51 pm

    Hai Amanda,

    About three years ago I also ran but I quitted then and went to the gym instead. This time my friend put my name on a list to run 5K in June. I was always complaining that I needed to start exercising again so she thought that that would make me move and it did!

    I started a program from 10 weeks which is simularly to your program to run 5K. You were supposed to run it in about 30 minutes but I’m a slow runner so it toke me 37 minutes.

    I love running and yes the feeling afterwards is great. The wheather conditions don’t mind: if it rains it doesn’t matter. The only thing which I find difficult to walk in is when its too hot. And this week will be a very hot week in Holland so its gonna be though to complete my trainings.

    • Amanda permalink*
      June 29, 2009 12:05 am

      Too funny… is your friend at least going to run the 5K with you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      That’s how I got my start too, actually. I went ahead and registered for a race before I started training. That was definitely motivation for me!

      I wouldn’t worry too much about the time. Everyone moves at their own pace. I finished my first 5K (where I was mostly walking) in 46 minutes and my second 5K (mostly running) in 37 minutes. I’m very anxious to see how I’ll do on my third one this coming weekend. Of course, I’m with you! The heat is definitely a factor in slowing me down.

      How hot does it get in Holland? It’s been in the mid-90s here for the past couple of weeks, though we’re expecting the weather to be in the mid-80s this week. Since the race on Saturday is at 7am, I’m thinking it may be in the high 70s/low 80s… which would be really nice! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

