Skip to content

A ray of sunshine and life’s little surprises

July 1, 2009

IMG_0595It’s dark outside and I’m finally putting an end to an incredibly busy few days. Busy in a good way, of course. But as much as I love what I do, I was still feeling a little down. I wore a yellow shirt today that I’d had forever (but never been able to button down) and emailed a picture of it to my mom. “If I can’t act like a ray of sunshine today,” I told her, “at least I’ll look like one.”

And the mental abuse continued: One day without a workout is excusable… but two? And even though I didn’t eat “bad” today, I did eat out twice and at odd hours… and probably went over my caloric limit (I didn’t keep track). It’s days like today that I want to shake my inner skinny girl and tell her to WAKE UP and get back to work!

It’s also days like today when you think it’s going to turn out one way, but life creeps up and surprises you with something completely different. And it’s that one surprise that turns your entire day around.ย  I really love when that happens.

After wrapping up work and doing a little cleaning, it was already after 8pm and dinner wasn’t even a thought until my stomach let me know I was missing it. With no groceries in the house (I’m going to add a ‘no groceries’ tag since I feel like I always blog about empty cupboards!) and the increasingly late hour, we caved tonight and bought Chinese at a little place around the corner. I used to get takeout here at least once a week. Without fail, I’d order the Sweet & Sour Shrimp or the Cashew Chicken. Always with fried rice. Never without an eggroll (sometimes two).

I hadn’t been there in quite some time (maybe since November 2008… probably a little before), but the same sweet lady still works behind the counter and actually recognized me. In broken English she acknowledged that I’d lost a lot of weight and complimented me on how good I looked. Random! But amusing and heartwarming all the same. I thanked her and ordered the Shrimp with Assorted Vegetables (broccoli, cabbage, water chestnuts and carrots) and steamed rice. I ate half and am saving the rest for lunch tomorrow.

On the way out, we ran into some friends I hadn’t seen in awhile who informed me that every time they see me, I’ve lost more weight. (I’m REALLY going to have to wear this outfit more often! ;)) And then I got the playful/sarcastic “really?” Like “you’re seriously losing more?” I laughed and said very matter-of-fact that yes, really. I wasn’t done yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

Moral of the story: Whenever you’re feeling down, keep your eyes, ears and mind open and let surprises happen. Life has pretty awesome timing.

sig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 10:24 am

    This was so timely! I haven’t worked out since Monday mostly due to schedule and I’ve been beating myself up! I will definitely look for those rays of sunshine today ๐Ÿ™‚ And let’s get a close up of those adorable yellow shoes!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 2, 2009 10:38 am

      Ugh, I know the feeling! This Emerson quote is my mantra:

      โ€œFinish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.โ€
      ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

      Also… here’s a closeup pic of the shoes! http://twitpic.com/91rg2
      What do you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Fran permalink
    July 2, 2009 11:23 am

    Oh my: don’t ever do that again: pictures of shoes ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love shoes (at least they always fit no matter how much your weight is) ๐Ÿ™‚

    You were your own sunshine today and people noticed that apparently. Seems to me you’ve had a great day!

    Enjoy the weekend with your parents!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 2, 2009 11:29 am

      I’m with you!! I have such a weakness for shoes. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great weekend, Fran!
      ~Amanda

  3. July 2, 2009 11:23 pm

    I LOVE your yellow shirt!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 2, 2009 11:38 pm

      Thanks, Mary! I’m starting to think I don’t wear it near as often as I should. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. cld permalink
    July 4, 2009 11:01 am

    you are inspiring me to keep on keeping on….thanks…..16.6 lbs off and 30 more to go….by the way…..where are you that they have those candle holders?

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 4, 2009 12:13 pm

      Congrats on those 16.6lbs!! You can do it!

      Those are the candle holders in my house. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

