Skip to content

F as in Fat

July 1, 2009

I have not been doing so hot concerning balance the past few days. My work deadlines seem to have all fallen on the same day this week so I’ve been working hard to get everything done ahead of schedule to ensure that I have a work-free weekend where I can enjoy my parents’ visit. I missed my workout yesterday and I can already tell you that my subconscious is going to try to convince me that cleaning house is a valid substitute for a workout today. If everything goes as planned though, I should be able to have everything done by tonight which will leave me tomorrow morning for one last good run before my 5K on Saturday.

Oh! That reminds me! The Get Moving Challenge starts today. Can you believe it’s already July 1?? My mini-challenge served its purpose as a personal jumpstart, but I fell .7 miles short somehow. Heh, oh well. πŸ˜‰

Finally, being a resident Nashvillian, I ran across some startling numbers today that did not bode well for our state. Apparently, last year Tennessee ranked both 3rd and 6th for fattest state in the nation. Unfortunately, this year’s rankings are not much better.

The Trust for America’s Health and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation have ranked us as 4th Fattest State in 2009 in their annual F as in Fat report. Tennessee’s adult obesity is up to 30.2%, rivaled only by Mississippi, West Virginia and Alabama.

Oh, Tennessee. It’s all a girl can do to keep on keepin’ on.

I’m out!

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 9:55 am

    Good Luck on the Get Moving Challenge!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 3, 2009 2:09 pm

      Thanks Connie! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

