Skip to content

Family fun: Day one

July 3, 2009

My day started at 5:30am… for no real reason at all. But, I was up with running shoes laced, heart rate monitor equipped, and my new iPhone armband on and ready to rock my new playlist. It felt so good to get a run in today. And even as early as it was, I had more energy than I expected. 2.734 miles in a little under 36 minutes, burning 350 calories. Not too bad for functioning without coffee. πŸ˜‰ And actually, the early morning burst of energy really gives me hope for Saturday’s 5K. My first race started at 10am and my second at 5pm. Saturday’s race starts at 7am. Should be interesting.

IMG_0607My parents pulled into town today! It was so good to see them. After they checked in to their hotel suite, I promptly took them to my favorite neighborhood coffee shop, where I ordered an iced nonfat latte and a strawberry & nutella crepe. (To SHARE, of course!)

After catching up a little bit, we headed back to their hotel for a game of Mexican Train dominoes. I had eaten my leftover chinese for brunch today and hadn’t had anything since, so even after the crepe, I was ready for dinner.

IMG_0612Around 5:30, we headed to Ruby Tuesday where I ordered an unsweet tea, the salad bar and the Chicken Fresco. I probably shouldn’t have gotten the salad bar, but their selection was too deliciously green to pass up: mixed greens with baby spinach, soybeans, cucumbers, carrots, cherry tomatoes, chickpeas, zucchini, black olives, sesame seeds and a drizzle of balsamic vinaigerette.

IMG_0613By the time the Chicken Fresco arrived, I was able to finish off the broccoli, but only eat half of the chicken and about 1/3 of the mashed cauliflower. FYI: There was a light garlic sauce on the chicken, but it was not swimming in oily butter as it appears here. I’m chalking that yellowing effect up to the lighting.

After dinner, we did some light shopping and then hit up the local bowling alley for Ladies’ Night! (Ladies bowl free every Thursday after 9pm. ;))

IMG_0620

We are total bowling rockstars.

I love my family. They are the biggest reminders of who I am and the biggest encouragers of who I’m growing up to be. It doesn’t get any better than that.

sig

One Comment leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    July 3, 2009 2:15 pm

    Aww! Love this post. Your parents are too cute!

Leave a Reply

