Skip to content

Family fun: Day two

July 3, 2009

I am STUFFED. We practically ate our way around town today. This morning, I met my parents at their hotel around 8:30 for breakfast. We had reservations at a charming restaurant in the historic Germantown district at 11:30, so I tried to keep it light with a bowl of mixed fruit (canteloupe, pineapple, grapes and oranges), 1/2 container of strawberry Yoplait yogurt, and a cup of hot spiced tea.

IMG_0622 IMG_0623

One of my absolutes on the agenda during my parents’ visit was going to the Farmer’s Market. I haven’t been in some time and I knew it wouldn’t be as crowded during the week. I was right! And I couldn’t believe the excellent quality and prices for their produce. I walked away with several yellow squash, zucchini squash, red potatoes, tomatoes, and eggplant and some bell peppers for a little over $6. The watermelon and cantaloupe were a bit more expensive, but I went ahead and got those too. Afterward, we loaded up the car and went to the Drink Haus to get some iced coffees and walk around the neighborhood.

Germantown is in North Nashville and was first home to the wild animals that were drawn to the sulfur spring and salt lick close to where the neighborhood now stands, and later to the Native Americans that hunted them. During the first half of the nineteenth century parcels of property started to sell and the area began its transformation from agricultural into residential. Many of the families who moved into the area were German (hence the name, Germantown) and the district was incorporated in the Nashville city limits in 1865. Today, it’s home to local business owners, adorable renovated cottages, and old-factories-turned-modern-lofts… and it’s also one of my favorite places in the entire city.

IMG_0627 IMG_0629 IMG_0631

We celebrated my mom’s birthday over ridiculously good tilapia and salmon salads and truffles from The Cocoa Tree for dessert. A few errands followed and finally, all of us exhausted, we called it a day.

Tomorrow morning at 7am is the Firecracker 5K! I’m trying to take it easy tonight so I will be well-rested for the event tomorrow. I’m thinking some relaxing yoga stretches and a good night’s sleep will do me good. I’ll update with my results tomorrow night after some 4th of July fireworks. Until then, Happy Independence Day!!

sig

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    July 4, 2009 1:27 am

    Good luck today Amanda at your 5K, will be thinking of you!

    Seems to me you’ve spend two great days with your parents and all the food pictures look delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Panera promotes living well « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

