Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: the family fun edition

July 5, 2009

Happy belated 4th of July! I had the best weekend and am actually pretty sad to go “back to reality.” My 2lb gain on the scale this morning only reminded me of the hard work ahead of me this coming week. I wasn’t as bummed as I probably should’ve been when I saw the numbers. I kind of expected it after all the good eats I had during my parents’ visit. (It’s true. I probably didn’t need that second Mimosa truffle from The Cocoa Tree, but it sure was delicious! ;)) I began the cleansing process this morning when I gave my parents the rest of the PB fudge I made from yesterday’s picnic and the remaining slices from the homemade bread we picked up at the Farmer’s Market to take home with them. That’s a start to get back on track!

Now for the good news: I set a new personal record at the Firecracker 5K! My 1st 5K time back in January was 46 mins, my 2nd in May was 37:48 and my 3rd on Saturday was 35:44! The best part was right at the end when I came up on another runner and we both sprinted to the finish line. She ended up beating me by a stride or two, but that was good, all-in-fun competition. She turned around and high-fived me when we finished. πŸ™‚

I started out walking and warming up for 5 minutes and then began to jog. I remember noting that I hit the first mile mark at 11 minutes. The race route was fairly flat with a few rolling hills… not bad at all! There were two water stations along the way and I stopped to walk at both of those, but quickly picked up the pace, trashing my cup after a few sips. Toward the end, there was a larger hill at which I stopped to walk for a little bit, but was able to run the rest of the way. I passed people left and right who were smaller than me but would have to stop running after a few minutes. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, of course since everyone is working at their own levels… but it made me feel good about the growth of my endurance overall. I know I’ve worked hard and I know I’m capable of doing anything I set my mind to. That feels really good.

IMG_0645I had a great visit with my parents and am so glad they were able to make the trip. A few hours after the race, we came back to my house where I made lunch with some of the veggies I’d gotten from the Farmer’s Market. I poured a can of chicken broth into a pan and steamed zucchini, yellow squash, onions, tomatoes, eggplant and a red potato. I sprinkled in some garlic powder and rosemary, too and let it all cook down together for several minutes. Delicious! On the side, we cut up some watermelon, cantaloupe and strawberries and I also heated up a veggie burger with light mayo and romaine lettuce in between a 100-calorie Sandwich Thin.

Later that night, we ordered sub sandwiches from Publix and I made HG’s Dreamy Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge. It ended up raining off and on through the night, but we were still able to enjoy some good music and great fireworks at one of the local amphitheatres in town. I really can’t complain about the weather because up until then, it had been nothing but sunshine and blue skies!

Goals for Week #8:

  • Get back to business and (get rid of those 2lbs)!
  • Track, track, track. Everything.

Hope everyone had a wonderful 4th of July and a restful weekend. How did you spend your holiday? I’d love to hear!

sig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    July 6, 2009 1:13 pm

    Wauw! Great result on your 5K. I did mine in June and did in 37 minutes so you’ve been a little bit faster!

    How did it go today? Back to healthy habits?

    xxx Fran

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 8, 2009 9:19 pm

      Thanks, Fran! 37 minutes is a great time, too! This was my mom’s first 5K and I told her that it wasn’t anyone else’s races but her own. The only time you should compete with is the one from your previous race. πŸ™‚

      Ugh, this week has me a little down. My eating habits are right on track, but I’m really lacking exercise. Maybe I’m just taking a week to get the nutrition back in sync before I conquer fitness next week… ha! I don’t think it works like that, but we’ll say it does for now.

      Hope you’re having a great week!

  2. July 6, 2009 2:13 pm

    Congratulations on your 5K! That’s fantastic results!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 8, 2009 9:15 pm

      Thank you, Michelle! I was very pleased with my progress. πŸ™‚

  3. July 7, 2009 9:51 am

    great job on your 5K!

    Have a wonderful week!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 8, 2009 9:16 pm

      Thanks, Connie!! Hope you’re week is going GREAT!

  4. Dr. Jo permalink
    July 7, 2009 8:26 pm

    Congratulations on your successful 5K. Here’s to healthy living!!!!

Leave a Reply

