Skip to content

Excuses, be gone!

July 8, 2009

Happy Hump Day! I can’t believe Wednesday is almost gone, and it will be Thursday in a few hours. Where has this week gone?!

I tweeted earlier this week that this week was on steroids. It sounds funny, but it’s true. I have had multiple meetings and a workload to match every day this week! Although, busy weeks are always good for freelancers so I can’t complain. What I can complain about is my poor attempt at maintaining balance this week. It’s been three days since I worked out and two since I blogged… so in that respect, I feel completely out of sorts. I have been eating lots of excellent fruits and veggies (thanks to my Farmer’s Market run last weekend!) and actually feel really good because of it.

March 2007 // July 2009

March 2007 // July 2009

I remember when I had an 8-5 desk job and repeatedly used my #1 excuse for not working out: “I just don’t have the time.” Now that I work out of my home and have the ability to set my own schedule, it’s a lot easier to juggle work with workouts. So how have I gone three days without exercise? I hesitate to answer. My biggest fear is that I will fall back into a comfortable rut and start relying on my old crutch – the excuse of not having time.

During weeks like this, it’s easy to freak myself out. A few days without exercise or a night of splurging can have me waking up in a cold sweat fearing the scale and the +200lb number I’m convinced will be on it. Even while writing this, I know that’s silly and impossible. Just as it takes time to get the pounds off, it takes time to put them on, too. It appears I’m just scared to turn back into the “old me” and my subconscious is overcompensating to ensure I don’t.

So really, I guess it’s a good thing being so self-aware. I know when I’m messing up and I know what I need to do to change that. Progress has to start somewhere, right?

What excuses have you used against yourself in the past? What are you doing now to overcome them?

Here’s to no more bad excuses!

sig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 1:02 am

    Wauw girl! What a great progress you’ve made in 2 years: you have every right to be so proud of yourself!

    Sometimes its okay to take a rest from exercising, its good for your body too but don’t let it take to long. Its more difficult to go training, the longer you wait (but I’m sure you know that already πŸ™‚ )

    I have a desk job from 8 am till 4.30 pm and I’ve used the same excuse till a few months ago: not enough time to work out. I also write on a woman’s forum, have a social life and do my own housekeeping and try to study besides all that.
    But I’ve made an agreement with myself: till I’ve reached the weight where I want to be exercising will come before everything else. My girlfriends know this and support me in this. If this means that my study will take longer: so be it. When I have an appointment it could happen that I arrive at 3 pm instead of 2 pm because I have to exercise first. So what this means for my excuses in the past: I don’t have them anymore!

    By the way: I’m curious what kind of work you do as a freelancer.

    xxx Fran

  2. July 9, 2009 1:03 am

    Oh and if my English isn’t always right I’m sorry. Its not my native language and I suppose you won’t understand my excellent Dutch writing πŸ™‚

  3. Amanda permalink*
    July 9, 2009 7:25 am

    Hehe, I was just thinking how good your English is! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the motivation. I think you have the right idea about making your health a top priority. I’d like to say mine is, but when meetings or other work engagements come up, it clearly falls to the wayside.

    In the business world, I’m known as “Artistic Amanda” — I’m a web/graphic designer and a visual artist. I also act as a Creative Consultant and come alongside businesses to aid in their marketing plans and the design of their brochures, email campaigns, etc.

  4. Flynn permalink
    July 9, 2009 10:59 am

    That side-by-side comparison blows my mind. You are AWESOME!!

  5. Fran permalink
    July 9, 2009 1:32 pm

    Your job sounds great! Sometimes I’d wish I could work as a freelancer too so I could work when I want too and exercise when I want too. I prefer exercising in the morning but with my job that’s not possible unless I get up really early πŸ™‚ Unfortunately it’s not possible to work as a freelancer in my profession.

    xxx

  6. July 10, 2009 1:22 am

    Amanda, so being busy is my excuse and you can’t have it. You are just going to have to get off your butt and exercise! LOL Okay, I will too. I have learned mornings are my best bet. If I get up and get right to it, I feel great and like I have so much more time in my day because I don’t have to stress about when I am going to fit my exercise in. I do have to say though… I have a comfy bed and that doesn’t always happen!

    XO Angie

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 10, 2009 2:55 pm

      Hehe, I GUESS I can let you have that one. πŸ˜‰

      I hear you! Exercising in the morning is a must for me. The thing that throws me off is when I have meetings at like 10 or 11. Then I feel like I can’t get sweaty beforehand and need to get in “business-mode” instead. But again… more excuses. On those days, I need to suck it up and get up an hour earlier!

  7. July 11, 2009 8:26 am

    we love your site so much and this post we have included it in our high fives for today-no more excuses!!

  8. July 13, 2009 7:34 am

    i love the photo comparison you posted here. great success. you look FANTASTIC!!! Congratulations on this wonderful accomplishment you have ALREADY made!!!

Trackbacks

  1. GGS High Five for Five Great Posts! | Girl, Get Strong!

Leave a Reply

