Skip to content

Some kind of Wonderful

July 11, 2009

Last week, I was contacted by Janny, the POM Blogger for POM Wonderful beverages. We began discussing the 100% pomegranate juice they carry and she offered to send me some samples. Since I had tried (and loved!) the Pomegranate Wildberry Light White Tea in the past, I quickly accepted.

photoAfter my box of juice arrived last week, I was anxious to get them chilled and give them a try. In the meantime, the first thing I noticed was the nutritional info and I have to admit, I was a little disappointed. The 8 oz bottles have 150 calories and 32g of sugar. For someone who makes a daily habit of counting calories (and who prefers consuming calories in food to beverages), I wasn’t sure at that moment that I could justify adding in the juice to my daily nutrition.

However, in a list of pros and cons, the good far outweighs the bad:

  • POM Wonderful never uses imported fruit. They grow their own fruit in California’s San Joaquin Valley and because of that, they are able to control quality at every step of production.
  • In a 3-month study of 45 patients with coronary heart disease, the group that drank POM juice had blood flow to the heart improve by approximately 17%… as opposed to the other placebo-consuming group who had their blood flow worsen by approximately 18%.
  • In a pilot study of 13 patients, drinking 8 oz of POM juice a day for two weeks lowered the incident of LDL oxidation, which is believed to be a key factor in arterial plaque formation.
  • Studies also show POM juice to be a superior source of antioxidants, with more and better antioxidants than red wine, grape juice, blueberry juice, cranberry juice, green tea, vitamin C, and vitamin E.

Enough about the health benefits tho… how does it taste? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Much like cranberry juice, honestly. It has a bittersweet (heavy on the sweet!) taste like cranberries but much fuller and darker – a little wine-like, if you can imagine that.

photo(2)Normally, I don’t purchase or drink a lot ofย  juice, but the benefits for cardiovascular health and antioxidant potency are definitely something I want to begin incorporating in my diet! I decided that the best fit for me would be mixing POM juice into smoothies and other recipes of the like.

For a quick 270-calorie lunch this afternoon, I experimented by peeling a mango (135 calories) and putting it in a blender with 4 oz of 100% POM Wonderful pomegranate juice (75 calories) and 4 oz of Dannon Fit & Light Vanilla yogurt (60 calories). The two fruits complemented each other nicely with the smooth yogurt cutting the sweet mango and the tangy pomegranate just enough. Delicious and most importantly, VERY filling!

Of course, this was before I checked out POM Wonderful’s website and noticed they have a huge list of recipes using POM juice. I’m looking forward to making some POM Iced Tea with my Lipton goods later this weekend!

Live well,

sig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 7:32 am

    oh that smoothie looks delicious. i would probably have to mix that juice with something in order to drink it too.

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 13, 2009 7:41 am

      It was very tasty! I didn’t realize mangoes had so many calories, though – I kind of purchased that one on a whim. Next time, I think I’ll try leaving out the yogurt, mixing with another fruit (blueberries maybe?) and tossing in some Sprite Zero or sparkling water. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. A new trend among cats and thinking on yesterday « Amanda Lives Well
  2. Hurray for Amanda! « Amanda Lives Well
  3. An afternoon run, a meal recap, and the most delicious smoothie ever « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

