Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: stopping the downward spiral

July 12, 2009

16804035My Sunday completely got away from me. Okay, I confess. I just sat on the couch, wrapped up in a blanket, drinking coffee and watching a movie for the last two hours so I guess it didn’t really get away from me, per se. πŸ˜‰

I’ll skip the details of my week’s progress (or lack thereof) since I’m hoping to forget about the 5 days I. DIDN’T. EXERCISE. and move on!! I love Sundays, if for no other reason than they are the mark of a new week and the perfect time to start fresh with a clean slate.

Regardless of all the goals I neglected during the past 7 days, I managed to lose exactly 1lb. Still thankful that I didn’t gain, I’m chalking this up to normal weight fluctuation and recommitting to fitness this week! (I have SO many miles to make up for my Get Moving Challenge…)

I was a little worried today about how to get back in the swing of things after taking almost a full week off, so I grabbed my nearest friend and pleaded for moral support. He obliged, of course and off we went – walking, not running. I figured that would be a quick start to ease myself back in to simply moving. It was incredibly hot and muggy and after 1.33 miles, we returned for some tall glasses of ice water. I knew all I needed to get me going again was to feel the after-effects of a little exercise. Does it every time.

Goals for Week #9:

  • GET BACK ON TRACK. Period!

You have my permission to hold me accountable! πŸ™‚

sig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 7:27 am

    hi there! we all have times like that when we sort of “fall off the wagon” regarding exercise. I’m crazy guilty there too. Good for you for getting back out and getting in a good walk and YAY for still losing 1 lb and not gaining. That’s awesome.

    I do plan to sign up for the Halloween race, so maybe we can meet then. How cool would that be. I’m currently running at around an 11:30 minute mile so if you are faster than me, that’s ok, but regardless we could always start the race together. LOL!!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 14, 2009 10:00 am

      Hi Krystyn, thanks for the encouragement. I’m finding that the closer I get to my ultimate goal weight, the lazier I get about nutrition and exercise. Who knows what that is… but it sure is frustrating!

      I would love love love a running buddy for the Halloween 5K! I’m not a very fast runner… and I take walking breaks at the water stations, lol! Either way, it’s sure to be a blast! πŸ™‚

      • July 14, 2009 10:09 am

        Hey Amanda…I actually signed up for the Halloween 5k yesterday…got tired of waiting and it’s cheaper the earlier you register.

        So let’s plan on running the race together, as much as we can. πŸ™‚

        We can communicate via email & arrange our meeting spot when the time comes. My email address is on my blog.

        This will be so fun!!

  2. July 13, 2009 11:37 am

    I will look here everyday if you keep your promise to yourself and exercise πŸ™‚
    But today you walked and that’s a start, you’ll get there!

    I love Sundays too, especially those without appointments and I can do whatever I want to do!

    Good luck, you’ll have my support!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 14, 2009 10:01 am

      You are awesome, Fran! I am totally blessed to have such awesome blogger friends. πŸ™‚

  3. July 13, 2009 12:58 pm

    Promise to hold you accountable if you promise to do the same for me!

  4. July 14, 2009 11:36 am

    You make me blush! I’m going for a run now and will read your blog of today later when I’m back.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

