Skip to content

No siree, Bob!

July 14, 2009

Yesterday morning, I was determined to start the week off right and get back in the swing of regular workouts. Since my last “good workout week” was leading up to my 5K, I focused more on running and very little on strength training. Naturally, Bob Harper’s Bootcamp video was calling my name. Having done Level One several times and feeling almost a bit cocky at how easy it was, I decided to put Level Two AND Three in between the warmup and cooldown.

After the warmup, started the squats. Then lunges, then holding a plank/push-up position, then plank-jumping jacks… and somewhere after the modified burpees with weights, I threw in the towel. Bob, my legs! What have you done?! To supplement the remaining workout, I went for a run around the neighborhood and felt like jello the entire way. The gods of fitness were clearly not pleased with my mini-sabbatical last week.

My legs, however, are not nearly as sore as I thought they’d be today so I’m taking that as a good sign. Although, I’ll probably change my mind on this every time I go to sit down today. Thank goodness I don’t have any meetings scheduled. I’m sure the faces I make, bracing for pain are pretty embarrassing.

Switching gears. I have no excuse for not blogging yesterday… so here’s to catching up!

What WAS on the menu?

IMG_0725I channeled Elvis when making yesterday’s pre-workout breakfast. I toasted an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin (100 cals) and spread 1.5 tbsp of Skippy Reduced Fat Peanut Butter on each half. (135 cals. Has anyone tried the 100-calorie Better’n Peanut Butter? I’m dying to give this a shot!) Finally, I sliced a small banana (93 cals) on top. After my run, I had a 4oz cup of Dannon Fit & Light Strawberry-Banana yogurt (60 cals).

I must’ve been in a sandwich-y mood because I toasted another Arnold’s Sandwich Thin (100 cals) for lunch and spread 1 wedge of Light Swiss Laughing Cow Cheese over the two halves (35 cals). The I shredded one romaine lettuce leaf (1 cal), sliced up 1/2 of a tomato (13 cals) and 1/2 of a cucumber (7 cals), sprinkled a little garlic salt and basil over it all and slapped the two sides together. I finished off the meal with a baked red potato (145 cals), topped with 1 tbsp of Land O Lakes whipped butter (50 cals), and a dash of salt & pepper. And later, I treated myself to a 100-calorie Slim-a-Bear Klondike Bar. Um, have you tried these?? DELICIOUS and perfect for calorie-counters with a sweet tooth! Publix had them on a BOGO sale this week… I couldn’t resist!

IMG_0726For dinner, I had some friends over and we took advantage of the perfect grilling weather: chicken breasts, fresh veggies (yellow squash, zucchini, garlic, onion and green pepper from the Farmer’s Market!), baked potatoes, and a glass of 2003 Mandolina Toccata Riserva red wine, picked up straight from the Santa Barbara County vineyard by my friend during her trip to California.

Sadly, I didn’t get any pictures of dinner. I will next time because it looked as good as it tasted!

As for the menu today, I just polished off 1/2 cup of Irish Oats (150 cals) with 6 strawberries (21 cals) and a sprinkle of Splenda. I had a cup of coffee (3 cals) with 1 tbsp of creamer (30 cals)… and as I’m writing this, I think I’ll have another cup (33 cals). ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m planning a light lunch today (maybe another veggie sandwich a la yesterday?) since I’m meeting a friend for happy hour at 6pm. Gotta fit a run in sometime before then, too. I need all the miles I can get for the Get Moving Challenge! No excuses!

What’re you feeding your tummies today?

sig

Oh, P.S.! Have you entered Rachel’s Preppy Polka Dot giveaway yet?? Tomorrow is the last day… and seriously. That wine glass is just the cutest thing ever. Swing by her site and tell her Amanda sent you!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. emmayeats permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:55 am

    I am obsessed with Better ‘n Peanut Butter! It’s so tasty and delicious. Real peanut butter is one of my no no foods because I just can’t stop eating it, but this is satisfying enough that I can only eat a few tspns and be ok. You can find it at Trader Joes or sometimes whole foods if you’re lucky!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 14, 2009 9:08 pm

      I LOVELOVELOVE peanut butter and I’m with you. It takes some strong willpower to stick to the serving size or less.

      I’ve heard nothing but good things about Better’n Peanut Butter and have actually seen it in passing at Trader Joe’s. It’s a little more pricey than regular peanut butter which is why I’ve probably passed it up before, but at only 100 cals per serving (and with all the good reviews) I think it may be worth it!

  2. Fran permalink
    July 14, 2009 3:00 pm

    Oh my God: plank-jumping jacks? Heavy stuff! I thank at the first one I would fall flat on my face ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m not into peanutbutter with banana but your lunch looks delicious!

    Euh my food today?
    Breakfast: low fat yoghurt with Special K and raisins and 2 kiwi’s
    Lunch: Greek salad, 2 sandwiches with cheese and a glass of milk
    Dinner: a little piece of meat (pork), baked potatoes and carrots

    xxx

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 14, 2009 9:11 pm

      YES, my friend. PLANK. JUMPING. JACKS. …Which explains why they were probably included in Level Two and not Level One. Next time, I’ll go back to Level One and not be so cocky.

      Yum, I love Greek Salads. If I had some feta cheese on hand (and kalamata olives!), I’d make one tonight. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Flynn permalink
    July 14, 2009 8:08 pm

    1. TRES impressive on the bootcamp video. I DETEST lunges, so kudos to you.

    2. Love the Unilever shout-out on the Klondike bars! I’ll tell the team ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 14, 2009 9:12 pm

      Ooh! I didn’t know they were a Unilever product. Tell the team I said KUDOS! Because they are just as delicious as the real thing… and maybe they are the real thing, just smaller? I dunno.

      Anyway, you can also mention that I will continue to buy their product if they send me coupons. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hehe!

Leave a Reply

