Skip to content

A new trend among cats and thinking on yesterday

July 15, 2009

IMG_0064I have always loved animals. It was probably much to my parents’ chagrin that hardly any time passed when I was growing up where I didn’t have a pet of some sort. These days, I have two cats: Yoshimi and Mick.

Even though the two have very distinct and different personalities, most of the time, they are your typical cats with their lounging and snuggling. Yoshimi will usually be the one to cry in the morning if not fed on time, but Mick likes to sleep in. Although, with her behavior the past two mornings, you would never have guessed it.

5:30am, like clockwork. I hear her little claws skitter across the hardwood floor. She rustles around in the corner and scampers back to her scratching mat, where she proceeds to go to town. The mat bangs loudly against the floor and she does a few laps around the room. She ends her route under the bed where I’m assuming Yoshimi has been sleeping since Mic gives him mew of warning. I imagine Yoshimi has probably playfully bitten her at this point.

…Aaaand I’m up.

Although I value my sleep as much as the next person, there is a certain loveliness about early morning. The sun is not quite up and everything is still quiet. I do some of my best thinking (and coffee drinking!) during this time. This morning, I thought about yesterday and what an all around good day it was.

I went to the lake for a run yesterday before lunch and felt great about the workout. I listened to my new playlist and really paid attention to how great it felt just to get outside and move. THIS is what I need to remember when I get lazy and decide to take a week off from exercise. πŸ˜‰

I forgot my HRM at home, so I have no idea how many calories I burned or exactly how long I went, but I’m estimating 2.8 miles in 35-40 minutes. (I still haven’t lost sight of my goal for the Get Moving Challenge and I’m actively seeking new ways to fit in all those miles I lost last week!)

What’s on the menu?

me and emMy light lunch yesterday ended up being one of my favorite Lean Cuisine dishes… Sesame Chicken! Super delicious and 330 cals.

At 6pm, I met an old friend at a restaurant on West End called Rumba. We sat outside with a couple of drinks (I ordered a “Naked Gun” – pistachio liqueur, Firefly sweet tea vodka and ginger ale), a couple glasses of water (of course) and split a small order of ridiculously good naan and hummus. Though I was impressed with the food, drink, service, and ambiance, the best part about the outing was catching up with an old friend I hadn’t seen in years. That kind of stuff is good for the soul.

As for today…?

Breakfast: I’m planning 1/2 cup of Irish Oatmeal (150 cals) with some much needed coffee (with 3 tsp of creamer… 33 cals)! Post-workout, I’ll have 4oz POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate juice (75 cals) blended into a smoothie with a small peach (~33 cals) and 4oz of Dannon Fit & Light Vanilla yogurt (60 cals).

Lunch: I foresee a Morningstar Tomato Basil & Pizza burger (120 cals) in my future! With some shredded romaine (1 cal), 1 tbsp of Kraft Light Mayo (50 cals) on a 100-calorie Sandwich Thin. On the side, some leftover grilled veggies: zucchini, squash, onions, green peppers and a little garlic (~37 cals). I may even treat myself to a Slim-a-Bear Klondike Bar (100 cals).

Dinner: I have a meeting scheduled at Panera so I’m planning to order my old fave standby… a half Mediterranean sandwich on Tomato Basil bread with a small fruit cup (380 cals total).

How’s your week shaping up?

sig

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 8:47 am

    Your food choices are inspiring! πŸ™‚

    I need this week to be over I think. I’m starting to get bummed out:(

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 15, 2009 11:46 am

      Hang in there, girl! We’re at the halfway-hump day point… it’s all downhill from here!

  2. Chloe permalink
    July 15, 2009 1:33 pm

    Hey Amanda! I found your blog through 20SB and think you’re very inspriring – keep up the good work.
    Some healthy blogs I like to follow are katheats.com and eatliverun.com The girls set such a good example and have tons of awesome inspirational photos. I always find something new I want to eat!

    Have a great day!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 15, 2009 2:11 pm

      Hi Chloe – thanks for stopping by! I’m a big fan of KERF but hadn’t heard of the other link… I’ll be sure to check it out. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. Fran permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:39 am

    Hai girlie,

    Oh my oh my what a delicious things you ate yesterday and today! Loving it!

    I never sleep in, not even on my free days. I like to get up early and on free days go running or to the gym in the morning. By getting up early you’ll have the whole day ahead of you and since sleeping takes time away from me in which I could do so many fun things, I don’t like to sleep much. Unfortunately one has to sleep … πŸ™‚

    I’m gonna leave you for a couple of days. We’re flying to Turino in Italy on Saturday and we will back next Wednesday.

    xxx

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 16, 2009 2:39 pm

      I’m so jealous of your trip to Italy!! Have a wonderful time! πŸ™‚

  4. July 16, 2009 12:10 pm

    alright, I’m inspired now to go take spinning class and eat a healthy lunch!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 16, 2009 12:18 pm

      Awesome! πŸ˜€

      How do you like spinning class, btw? I hear people raving about it And I’ve always been curious, but have never tried.

  5. Fran permalink
    July 16, 2009 1:41 pm

    About spinning: tried it once, was almost dead after the lesson and hated it every minute πŸ™‚

    Not my cup of tea πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

