Skip to content

Hurray for Amanda!

July 16, 2009

IMG_0740Halfway through my 2nd grade year, my family and I moved to a suburb of Atlanta. When I switched schools, I was placed in a class with another Amanda and decided I’d (temporarily) change my name to Mandi to avoid any confusion. One day, I woke up to find a wooden blue ribbon magnet on our refrigerator that said “Hurray for Mandi!” That magnet held up my best work for years to come.

Anytime I drew a new picture, made a good grade, or had an article in the paper – they would all take a turn in the spotlight under that magnet. When I graduated from college and got a place of my own (and changed my name back to Amanda), the magnet made its way into a box with the rest of my kitchen stuff and has had a place on my fridge ever since.

I have a rather large collection of magnets so I didn’t think too much about it until a few days ago when the ribbon cutout broke off the magnet and landed on my counter. Until I get around to gluing it back on, I’m keeping it in plain sight (right now, it’s in my fruit bowl!) to remind me to be PROUD of myself… for the progress I’ve made, for the choices I make, and for the change that’s taking place. Hurray for Amanda!

Today, I was especially proud of myself for breaking out of my 5K workout routine and pushing myself even further. I alternated running with a little walking for a full hour today on one of Nashville’s greenways and burned 626 calories according to my HRM. I was going to turn around at mile-marker 2 but lost track of my distance somewhere after mile-marker 1.75. I know I must’ve passed two miles while I was waiting to see the marker and based on the map, I’m thinking I did close to 5.5 miles.

What’s on the menu?

IMG_0738Breakfast: Because I wanted to get up and run while I had the drive, I only drank water before my workout. When I got back, I blended 4oz of POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice with 6 small strawberries and 4oz of Strawberry Dannon Fit & Light Yogurt for a total of 147 calories. I was about to cook some egg whites or something when FedEx delivered my Amazing Grass package! They included lots of drink mixes and wheat grass (ranging from 30-35 cals) and a few Amazing Meal packets (more in the 110 calorie range), as well as a few energy bars. I couldn’t wait to sample something, so instead of cooking, I ate the Chocolate Whole Food Energy Bar.

I’m not sure what I was expecting but I was very pleasantly surprised! It tasted like a chocolate covered Fig Newton… very chewy, sweet, and delicious! The Chocolate Whole Food Energy Bar was 230 calories… check out this all-star ingredients list!

Lunch: I had a Morningstar Tomato & Basil Pizza Veggie Burger in between a 100-calorie Sandwich Thin. Also appearing on the sandwich was 1tbsp Kraft light mayo, 1 romaine lettuce leaf, 1 thick slice of tomato and 1 slice of onion. On the side, I had a small baked potato with 1tsp of Land O’ Lakes Whipped Butter and salt & pepper, rounding out a 434-calorie lunch.

I also used my new AG shaker to mix a packet of Green SuperFood with 16oz of water for an additional 30 calories. I was a little hesitant at the sight of a green beverage, but it was refreshing and tasted like lightly sweetened tea.

No solid dinner plans yet… hopefully something yummy!

To quote The Biggest Loser’s theme song… “What have you done today to make you feel proud?”

sig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dr. Jo permalink
    July 16, 2009 7:25 pm

    Hurray for Amanda is right…go girl!

  2. July 16, 2009 8:37 pm

    Good for you!! πŸ™‚

  3. Fran permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:51 pm

    What made me proud yesterday? I wouldn’t know, nothing I suppose. Today has just begun so I can’t say how this day is gonna end.

    I use positive things: every night I right in a diary what was positive that day, this could be anything like f.e. that I had a nice working day or that I did something nice with a friend etc. But every night I have to think of something which made the day a positive one.

    xxx

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 17, 2009 7:51 am

      Fran – what an awesome idea!

      I wish I had the discipline to journal good thoughts before bed. I bet you sleep good every night after thinking on such positivity!! Good for you!

  4. July 20, 2009 7:44 am

    I absolutely love it… Hurray for Mandi!

    Make it another great week!

    Angie

Leave a Reply

