Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: southern cooking, mini-goals, and water, water everywhere!

July 19, 2009

I almost refused to weigh-in this morning because my weight has fluctuated around the same 5lbs for the past several weeks. Reluctantly, I did and I was up .4lbs. Am I surprised? Pfft, hardly. In fact, if that’s all I gained the entire week, that’s actually quite impressive.

Last night was my friend’s 40th surprise birthday party. His wife hosted us all at The Loveless Cafe for an all-you-can eat, family-style southern feast of fried chicken, pulled pork BBQ, hashbrown casserole, green beans, yams, and your choice of strawberry-rhubarb, blueberry or chess pie. Oh! And I almost forgot their famous biscuits with homemade peach, blueberry, and strawberry preserves. Do I even need to say that I splurged a little? I did. And that’s why I’m okay with the .4lbs.

On the upside, while I was there I ran into a friend I hadn’t seen in a couple of months and she complimented me more than once on my progress, saying she could really tell a difference with all the running I’d been doing. This came up in conversation with another friend on the way home. I mentioned that while I’m not seeing any real change in the numbers on the scale, it’s nice to hear that there are changes happening. He agreed and wondered if this wasn’t a time where my body was transforming fat into muscle, so the numbers might stay the same but my body shape would continue to change. Maybe that’s it. Either way, I want to be careful of making excuses. Regardless of the reason, I have to keep at it. 32.8lbs to go!

Besides my ultimate weight goal, I have a couple of mini-goals I’m trying to reach and just realized I haven’t written about those yet:

  1. cheerleadermandiLower my cholesterol: High BP and cholesterol levels run in my family. I’ve had high cholesterol ever since I was a kid. The last time I had it checked was right out of college and it was at an all-time high (I think I blocked the actual number out because I don’t remember it). I’ve been a little gun-shy at getting another test, but my desire to see change kind of outweighs that.
  2. Lower my blood pressure: Progress! It’s not “official,” but I did use the BP machine at Publix on Friday and was so excited to see that I was no longer in the scary high range, no longer in the pre-hypertension range, but normal. NORMAL! The Publix manager walked by and said “Did you get those magic numbers?” And with confidence, I said “YES. Yes, I did.”
  3. Fit into my high school cheerleading uniform: Okay, this is totally vain and silly, but definitely attainable since I’m within 10lbs of what I weighed at my high school graduation. I recently registered for I Run For They Party’s Halloween 5k (I forgot to tell you, Krystyn!) and the runners are encouraged to wear costumes for the race. You see where I’m going with this… I want to run in my old cheerleading uniform. It’s still hanging in a closet at my parents’ house, but I’ll be seeing them over Labor Day, so I have a little over a month before I can try it on. ๐Ÿ™‚

Goal for Week #10:

  • Drink more water.

I’m keeping it simple this week. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Namaste,

sig

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 6:54 pm

    From time to time I try on my high school prom dresses to see if they still fit. ๐Ÿ˜›

    And they do! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 19, 2009 10:02 pm

      Awesome! That’s gotta feel good. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Fran permalink
    July 22, 2009 12:36 pm

    I’m really looking forward to the present you in your cheerleader uniform ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m sure its gonna fit you between now and a near time in the future!

    Party food sounds delicious, I can almost smell it ๐Ÿ˜†

Leave a Reply

