Skip to content

And the plateau continues…

July 24, 2009

After a brief bout of throwing in the towel (but not really) yesterday, I began this morning feeling a little frustrated and a lot stuck. I set out on an early morning run on my favorite Nashville greenway, but my run slowed to a walk 1.25 miles in and I began to reevaluate where I was and what I could do to jumpstart this lull.

trying on a new outfit with a new red 'do.

trying on a new outfit with a new red 'do.

I had (and still have) a thousand questions. From what I’ve read, a plateau effect can be caused by just about anything. Am I eating enough? Am I eating too much? Is my body resistant to my workout routine? Am I not incorporating enough strength training? …and so on, and so on. You can understand my confusion.

I decided a fresh start was in order. I changed my hair and bought some new (fitted!) summer clothes. I also created a new SparkPeople account starting at my current weight with my weight loss and current health/fitness goals. SP automatically generated 1200-1550 calories a day regarding my nutrition, which I took as a good sign because that’s typically the range I stay in even when I don’t track my meals. I’ll be interested to see how this changes based on my fitness level. I need to be diligent about tracking that so that the nutrition numbers stay accurate.

I’ve come much too far to give up and even though it’s beyond frustrating seeing no results for all the energy and sweat spent, I have to keep myself motivated.

“It’s not whether you get knocked down; it’s whether you get up.”

-Vince Lombardi

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 7:47 am

    It will get better. I promise. Just push through it. πŸ™‚

  2. Dr. Jo permalink
    July 25, 2009 8:34 am

    Amanda, you look great and it sounds like your energy level is staying up. Thanks for sharing your challenges.

    We are part of the NOW generation…we want it all now. I applaud you for taking the right path…healthy eating and exercise. You are an inspiration to me! I have been trying to lose the same 10 lbs since November 2008, talk about frustration! Let’s celebrate the plateau, but refuse to camp out here. Thanks again for the motivation…we can do this!

  3. Fran permalink
    July 25, 2009 12:16 pm

    I’ve been looking at the SP page and it looks really good. Unfortunately it’s nothing for me because lots of the nutricions can’t be bought here. But its a really good site with lots of information. I haven’t found a dutch site yet which comes close to this.

    I think you’ve taken the right path!

    Love your clothes!

Trackbacks

  1. Weight Loss » Blog Archive » And the plateau continues…

Leave a Reply

