Skip to content

A rainy Tuesday and fro-yo’s coming to town

July 28, 2009

Rain, rain go away… so I can get my last several miles in for the Get Moving Challenge which ends FRIDAY!

After Sunday’s cookout we had a few grilled goods leftover and I decided (against my better judgement) to have one of the leftover burgers for dinner last night. It’s rare that I eat red meat… like really rare. And apparently so was this burger. Together, not a good combo. I woke up this morning SICK. Thankfully, the small, short-lived food poisoning only lasted about an hour (at 6:30am!) and I was able to get some more zzzz’s before I finally got up, feeling 100% better at 10am.

What’s on the menu?

I took it easy today considering the circumstances: Plain oatmeal for breakfast and Progresso Light Southwestern Vegetable Soup with Saltines for lunch. By the time dinner rolled around, I was jonesing for something a bit heavier. I went to Subway and ordered a Veggie Delite foot long sub on wheat with provolone cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, green peppers, red onions, black olives, cucumbers, oregano and their olive vinaigrette dressing. Just as I was about to checkout, I browsed the chip stand for kicks when something new caught my eye: Light Lays!

I’m pretty sure these have been on the market for quite some time, but I’m not a huge chip-eater so it makes sense that I’m just now discovering them. Finding chips enjoyable on the side of sandwiches from time to time, I made an impulse purchase and picked up a bag. 75 calories for the entire bag… and they were actually pretty good!

Here’s the (potentially) bad news: they’re made with Olestra which has gotten a really bad rep from the horrible ways it effects some people. I’ve eaten products with Olestra before and it’s never bothered me so I knew it wouldn’t be a problem.

I can picture some of my au naturale friends giving me a huge /facepalm right about now. Don’t get me wrong! I certainly won’t deny that organic and raw foods are excellent for you. I do try to purchase those items and work them into my diet when I can, but in this day and age, I also try to be practical. Ultimately, I believe that everything is fine in moderation. And with that, I’ll step off my soapbox. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ooh, something new and different for my fellow Nashvillians… our very own Tasti D-Lite is opening TOMORROW! Their flavors (and nutritional info!!) look very appealing for an end-of-summer snack. Just keep portion size in mind when ordering. All nutritional info is based on a serving size of 4oz. so it’s probably a good idea to grab a friend, decide on a flavor and share. Having that said… who’s coming with me?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Is tomorrow seriously already Wednesday?! Someone hit the slo-mo button, will ya?

sig

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    July 28, 2009 11:56 pm

    Keeping my fingers crossed that today will be a sunny day for you so you can run!

    Don’t get fooled by Lays light chips! We’ve got it in Holland for quiet some time now and researchers say that light chips isn’t light, it seems it doesn’t matter much if you take light or normal chips. It’s still chips and for your health its better to make other choices.

    But ………… every now and then chips is so nice!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 29, 2009 7:59 am

      Thanks, Fran! It’s a little overcast this morning but no rain… so far, so good!

      I think the Holland-based study you’re referring to found that 3 gm/day (a little over 1 tsp) consumption of olestra-like chemicals caused 20% decline in beta-carotene levels and a 38% decrease in lycopene (an antioxidant and pigment that gives tomatoes and watermelon their color). Three clinical studies found that 8 gm/day (almost 3 tsps) of olestra reduced lutein (a nutrient also providing yellow pigment to squash and egg yolks and of great benefit to eyesight) levels by 20% to 40%.

      I’m really glad you brought this up because it’s important to present both sides, however these results are based on the intake of olestra every day.

      I do acknowledge that chips are basically empty calories. Light Lays just have less of them. I’m certainly not advocating replacing fruits and vegetables or any kind of healthy snack with chips… light or not. I agree that too much of one thing can lead to problems. However, indulging once in awhile is not a problem. It’s all about moderation and balance… and listening to your body. (Something I haven’t mastered, but am striving for! :))

  2. July 29, 2009 8:13 am

    I love those Light Lays Chips, but I really liked the Light Tortilla chips they made and it seems like they’ve been discontinued as I cannot find them anywhere. I’m so bummed because I would often have the Light Tortilla Chips & Salsa for a lunch or snack and it was SUPER low on calories. Argh!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 29, 2009 8:20 am

      Yum, tortilla chips! I really have been hiding under a rock because this is the first I’ve heard of any of these products!

  3. July 29, 2009 8:22 am

    Wow! Yes, they’ve been around for a while….I’m still mourning the recent loss of the Tortilla Chips though…just realized they were gone about a month ago.

  4. July 29, 2009 9:42 am

    Hoping for sunny days for you! And that ice cream looks delish! Enjoy!

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 29, 2009 1:52 pm

      Thanks! It looks like your well wishes may have worked… the sun is out!!

  5. July 29, 2009 10:35 am

    I totally blew it on the Get Moving Challenge. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I still love the baked chips.

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 29, 2009 1:51 pm

      Aw, don’t beat yourself up. I totally failed at the Fab Fatties Challenge awhile back. Some days we got it, other days we don’t!

      Also, baked chips are tasty, indeed!!

  6. Fran permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:59 pm

    Amanda, sometimes we just HAVE to eat chips because it taste so good at that moment! If we deny ourselves everything it’s hard to keep on dieting/eating healthy. So every now and then we have to treat ourselves.

    I don’t know where I’ve read but it’s already been a few years ago.
    When I eat chips I don’t eat the ligt version. No no, I’m going for the full monty: the fat ones ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 29, 2009 1:50 pm

      Hehe, I hear you on that! Nothing ever beats the taste of the “real thing!” ๐Ÿ˜€

      Also, I agree with you 100% – that’s why most diets fail because deprivation is not realistic.

Leave a Reply

