Skip to content

Yoga and pilates

July 30, 2009

It’s still a little overcast today, but the clouds have mostly parted making way for a little Thursday sun. I have absolutely nothing (other than a little work) on the agenda for today and I intend to spend at least part of it getting some Vitamin D, the good ol’-fashioned way. Today is gonna be good. I can feel it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday, I was craving a little variety in my routine so I switched it up and picked a Pilates video on Netflix – Pick Your Level: Weight Loss Pilates. I’ve never really given Pilates a chance. When I have tried it, I’ve always preferred other exercises, but the different level options on this DVD were appealing. The video was very quick; the routine lasted a little over 34 minutes. I did enjoy the stretching and the ballet-like moves, but overall it felt way too easy to be classified as a workout. However, when I woke up this morning my core, shoulders, and hips had a good ache to them… so I know I must’ve been doing something right!

When I first got my iPhone, I downloaded a free app called YogaTrainer. It’s not a video, but rather a visual collection of yoga poses. Sort of like a slideshow with a timer at the bottom. They have a few categories you can choose from for collective routines or you can mix and match. This morning, I gave the 10-minute Sun Salutation a try and LOVED it. It still amazes me how re-energized you can feel after a few simple stretches and deep breaths first thing in the morning.

Here’s my Sun Salutation routine, in case you’re interested:

Off to start my day with some coffee and delicious blueberry oatmeal!

Namaste,

sig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 10:04 am

    I love love love love yoga! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 30, 2009 10:18 am

      Me too. ๐Ÿ˜€

      I haven’t been doing it consistently for very long, but am flexible enough to where I’d probably feel comfortable taking an intermediate class. I hope to continue the practice since it’s really beneficial to ALL areas of your life – mind, body and soul!

  2. Fran permalink
    July 30, 2009 1:14 pm

    Itยดs funny how we do some things the same ๐Ÿ™‚

    Besides running I also do Pilates and Power Yoga. I’ve read that it’s very good to combine these two because running shortens your muscles while Pilates and Yoga lengthen them.

    If you’re going to tell me tomorrow that you are going to take a Zumba class its definite:
    I will be astonished!

    xxx

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 30, 2009 2:20 pm

      I’ve always wanted to try Zumba, but never have!!

  3. Flynn permalink
    July 30, 2009 6:46 pm

    I have to say that Pilates is the one exercise I’ve done that truly reshaped my body when I first did it a few years ago. And honestly, I have NO CLUE why I ever stopped. So it’s funny you posted this today, because I JUST started it back up! I did a DVD this morning and really enjoyed it…It does sometimes feel like you’re not sweating enough for it to be a real workout, but I def notice a difference in my muscles after awhile.

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 31, 2009 10:23 am

      Good for you!! I’d like to investigate a few different videos to give Pilates a real shot. Even though this vid was a good introduction, and I felt a good muscle burn the following day, I still don’t feel like it would make much of an impact over time.

      Any recommendations??

  4. July 31, 2009 10:59 am

    I have really tried to get into yoga, but I just can’t. I guess I am like you, I just don’t feel like I am working out. I should try the one you did. I love that feeling of being sore the next day… weird, I know ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      July 31, 2009 11:39 am

      Oh, I completely agree. I don’t approach yoga as a workout but rather a good stretch after a workout (especially on my rest days). That’s the main difference between Pilates and Yoga, in my opinion.

      While yoga is all about focusing on breath and relaxation, pilates is a little more aerobic (not really, but definitely more so than yoga) and focuses on toning while still working on stretching and flexibility.

      Also, I don’t think you’re wierd at all… I love the “afterburn,” too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Flynn permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:04 pm

    The one I’ve always gone back to is ‘The Method: Precision Toning,’ but I’ve been tempted to get a couple of the ’10 Minute Solution’ ones on Amazon. I mean, they’re all Pilates, so they’ll feel slow, and if you can’t get into it, you can’t get into it. You just can’t force that stuff, you know? But I’ve really liked the results from ‘Precision Toning…’

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga and pilates ยซ Amanda Lives Well | Arkansas Pilates

Leave a Reply

