Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: change in heart, not in numbers

August 2, 2009

I’m not done saying it: It’s already August?! Mind is blown. Can not get over it.

Sigh, moving on.

This weekend was full of fun! Following a Girl’s Night Out on Friday night, one of my out-of-town friends came to visit with her husband. We had a lovely dinner at Cabana (I had the Tennessee Rainbow Trout, corn souffle and cherry tomatoes),ย  walked around downtown for the monthly art gallery crawl, and finally ended up at Fido for coffee and dessert (I had a nonfat latte, some dark chocolate buzz beans, and some Pink Radio Cake laced with beets… sounds weird, but it was really good! ;))

When I came back home, I started looking at pictures from the last time I’d seen my friend and realized it had been two years. (Again, time flies!) I put those pictures side by side with the ones we took last night just for fun. It made me realize that real change has taken place, both inside and out – whether my mind chooses to believe it or not. That small reminder helped me determine my goal for this week.

mandinatalie

Looking back, this was a fairly typical week. I finished the Get Moving Challenge (barely) and did only “okay” on my tracking. This week, I want to try to fall back in love with being active. I feel like somewhere along the line my focus has shifted – whether it was for running a certain distance or doing a certain routine. Somewhere along the way, it started to feel like work. Work that I really beat myself up over if/when I fell short.

Goal for Week #12:

  • This week, I want to try and incorporate different ways of being active into my daily routine. I’m writing the word ACTIVE on a post-it now and tacking it to my monitor for a visual reminder of my goal.

Here’s to August!

sig

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 6:03 am

    Wauw you’ve really changed! You look great (actually on both pictures to be honest).

    And your dessert: yum yum give me sume ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great week!
    This morning I did my run for today at 6.30 am and it felt great!

    xxx

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 3, 2009 7:38 pm

      Good for you getting up at 6:30 to run!! You’re a champ!

  2. August 3, 2009 8:10 am

    So how are you going to be incorporate being active? I ask because I’m super curious. My desk job has me on lockdown and I’m looking for ways as well!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 3, 2009 7:49 pm

      Good question! I’m actually really glad you asked since I’m not exactly sure and this is making me think! I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to approach everything I do on a case by case basis. For instance: I’ve got some downtime and want to relax… tv or yoga? Yoga. Or, taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Or walking instead of driving when I can.

      Desk jobs are rough because there really is nothing you can do (besides butt exercises, hehe!) without being awkward in an office environment. One thing I try to do is get up every once in awhile and walk around… or stretch! Your boss may think you’re slacking off, but studies have actually shown if you take several small breaks to get the blood flowing, you’re actually more productive!

      If I come up with any discreet (non-butt flexing) desk exercises, I’ll let you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

