Skip to content

Hump Day bites

August 5, 2009

25991DG~Wednesday-Is-Hump-Day-Posters

Already Wednesday! Another week getting away from me.

My “ACTIVE” post-it has worked well so far this week. Yesterday, I had a few errands to run about 1.5 miles down the street, so I walked instead of drove and ended up killing two birds with one stone – finishing my to-do list and knocking out some exercise. I celebrated my good choice and treated myself to a 6″ veggie sub at Subway on the way back. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve never really been a big sandwich person, but lately I lovelovelove Subway’s veggie subs. I’m finding the more fruits and veggies I eat, the more I crave. I used to hate tomatoes, onions, and raw green peppers and now I can’t imagine veggie subs without them. Too good.

What’s on the menu?

It’s grocery time again which I always tend to stretch out farther than I probably should. I like to take this time to get creative and make meals out of random odds and ins left in the house. It’s like a weird challenge or something. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I playfully named my breakfast “Patriotic Oats” when I prepared it this morning: 1/4 cup cooked oatmeal, 1/4 cup blueberries, and 5 chopped large strawberries topped with 4oz. of Dannon Light & Fit Vanilla Yogurt. I paired that with two cups of coffee (and 1tbsp of plain creamer per cup) to round out my 247-calorie breakfast.

orzoI’ve recently found that Orzo pasta makes a great foundation for quick meals. Monday night, I had 1/3 cup of orzo cooked in 1 1/3 cup of chicken stock. I sprinkled garlic powder, pepper, and a can of white chicken in while it was cooking. Meanwhile, I cut up a tomato and heated up 1/2 cup of english peas and mixed it all together, topping it with a sprinkle of parmesan. It was surprisingly really good and a manageable 460 calories.

Last night, I cooked 1/4 cup of orzo with 1 cup of chicken stock. I sprinkled garlic powder, pepper and turmeric in while cooking. I heated up the remaining 1 cup of peas from the night before and mixed that in with the pasta for 233 calories. Even using basically the same ingredients, the turmeric transformed it into a completely different taste. I love the semi-ethnic taste and subtle heat turmeric adds. And actually, turmeric has numerous health benefits… so if you like it, go nuts!

I still have a little orzo and a lot of stock leftover, so I’ll probably dig around and see what new concoction I can create for lunch. Maybe something with dill? Don’t worry… I’ll go grocery shopping soon enough. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m really looking forward to my dinner plans! My favorite roommate from college is in town and a group of us are getting together for dinner at Cantina Laredo. It’ll be my first time dining there, but from first glance at their menu, I’ll probably have the Chicken Fajita salad with salsa and guacamole. Everything seems a bit pricey, but I’m hoping that will deter me from ordering up a steep (in price and calories!) margarita.

Happy Hump Day!

sig

P.S. Have you checked out @TeenieWahine‘s new giveaway on her site? You should.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    August 5, 2009 12:54 pm

    Ohhhhhhhhhh can’t I go with you at the restaurant: it sounds great!
    Wait for me while I’ll catch the next plane ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great job at your exercise routine!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 5, 2009 3:27 pm

      Come on! Think you can be here by 7:30? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. August 5, 2009 3:32 pm

    I LOVE the Veggie Delight sub at Subway!!!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 5, 2009 3:49 pm

      I am obsessed with it! I usually get all the veggies with provolone cheese, oregano and a smidge of their olive vinaigrette on wheat. It’s the stuff dreams are made of.

  3. Flynn permalink
    August 5, 2009 7:06 pm

    You know the Veggie Delite is my go-to!! Try it in a wrap sometime – delish!

  4. August 6, 2009 8:49 am

    Your breakfast sounds great!! Yum! Dinner sounds good too, minus the peas.. yuck! ๐Ÿ˜› And I think it’s great that you use up what’s in the house before grocery shopping!! I’m trying to get to that point… keeping this week a “bare minimum” week, we grocery shop FAR TOO MUCH! lol!!

    Have a great dinner tonight!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Carla~
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 6, 2009 9:39 am

      Hehe, you don’t like peas?

      I always seem to have a fair amount of canned veggies on hand, which is weird for me since I usually buy them fresh. But I don’t mind peas… I just have to be in the mood for them. ๐Ÿ™‚

      P.S. I don’t mind you adding me to your blogroll at all – thank you!!

  5. August 6, 2009 8:50 am

    PS added you to my blogroll.. hope you don’t mind! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

