Skip to content

Girls just wanna have fun

August 6, 2009

me and julieWhen I was in college and living in a 4-BR townhouse with 3 other girls (don’t worry – we had three bathrooms!) I became friends with one of the greatest roommates I’ve ever had. Both of us music majors, we would make up songs on the fly and create our own mini-musicals. We knew we were silly, but we liked it that way. The summer before my senior year, our other 2 roommates moved home till the fall and my great roomie (GR) and I had the place to ourselves. It was too much fun.

After graduation, GR ended up moving to Texas. We would talk occasionally but busy schedules and other life stuff caused more distance and time between communication. Thank God for Facebook! On Monday, I caught wind that after 5 years, she was coming back to town! GR, two of our other friends and I caught up over Mexican last night and picked up right where we left off. That’s the awesome thing about really good friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

saladCantina Laredo is a fairly new place in town right in the heart of The Gulch (mostly a hipster district in Nashville with lots of new condos and urban shops/eateries). When we got there, we were seated in a really plush corner booth. We were given 3 small silver bowls of chips and four(!) bowls of salsa – two of the tomatillo variety which were really spicy and served hot and two of a more milder, darker variety. Both very good! Also, if you sign up for their email list (which I did), they email you a certificate for free top shelf guacamole made table-side (which I redeemed and it was delicious)! I should also add that I broke down and ordered their house margarita. They make them with fresh squeezed lime juice – no sweet and sour mixers! That sealed the deal for me.

For dinner, I ordered the Chicken Fajita salad which came with an iceberg/cabbage mix, carrots, shredded cheese, a slice of avocado and quite a bit of chicken. I dressed it with the tomatillo salsa and a tiny bit of the delicious and fresh top shelf guac. Yum!

“Truly great friends are hard to find, difficult to leave, and impossible to forget.”

As we were leaving, one of my Nashville friends told me I’d inspired them to start the C25K program! We have tentative plans to run together on Saturday. I’m looking forward to that. ๐Ÿ™‚

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 12:32 pm

    Sounds & looks like you had a fabulous time!!! Glad you enjoyed your dinner out.. it’s always fun to get together with old friends! Your dinner looks sooo good!

    ~Carla~
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 7, 2009 10:08 am

      The salad was REALLY good. The waiter offered me ranch dressing and I really can’t imagine muddying it up with that. The tomatillo salsa and fresh guac really brought out the awesome flavors. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. August 6, 2009 10:51 pm

    How fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad someone else besides me is finding you to be inspiring! Keep being you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 7, 2009 10:10 am

      You ROCK!

      That is all. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. August 7, 2009 2:24 am

    Great friends are a pricless treasure… and that margarita sounds fabulous!

    Angie

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 7, 2009 10:10 am

      Ain’t that the truth? It’s true what they say… I get by with a little help from my friends!

      The margarita was so tasty I had two! Sssh. Don’t tell. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. August 7, 2009 2:27 am

    It seems you’ve had a great night! I had a date with four other girlfriends last night too. And it’s so nice to have such evenings in our lives but I’m sure you totally agree to that!

    The salad looks great!

    Nice that you’ve inspired a friend to go running. I was inspired to go running by my best girlfriend who just put my name on a list in our company for a 5K run in June. I was telling her always I needed to pick up exercise but never did it and she “made the decision” for me and I’m grateful to her for that!

    Since I’ve started in March, 3 of my other friends are following the same program as I did with running.

    So never a bad thing to spread the word ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a nice day!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 7, 2009 10:11 am

      Aw, I love girls nights out!! Glad you could have fun with your girlfriends, too!

      Hehe, that’s so funny about your friend signing you up for the race. Aren’t you glad she did tho? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. August 19, 2009 1:16 pm

    Sounds like a great time with great friends. The salad sounded delicious too!!! Yay for potentially having a new running buddy!!

Leave a Reply

