Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: celebrate good times, c’mon!

August 9, 2009

Well, there’s good news and there’s… good news! I took a week off running and let my “ACTIVE” post-it remind me to incorporate other activities into my lifestyle. I walked, I danced, I rented The Method Pilates: Precision Toning & Sculpting DVD from Netflix and I actually incorporated quite a bit of strength training into my week. Whatever it was, I must’ve been doing something right. My official weigh-in says I’m down 4.2lbs this week! Part of me is super excited with those results, though the other part of me doesn’t want to get my hopes up for fear that it will go back up next week. Today though, I’m choosing to celebrate.

IMG_0863And what a perfect weekend to do just that! Yesterday was the East Nashville Tomato Art Festival:

Voted “Best Festival” in the 2007 and 2008 Nashville Scene Reader’s Polls, the 2009 Tomato Art Fest will be Saturday, August 8. Located in Historic East Nashville’s Five Points area, which has been coined by Budget Travel Magazine as “Nashville’s version of New York’s East Village,” this FREE, costume-friendly event provides a fun-filled day for thousands.

The Tomato Art Fest has steadily drawn larger crowds with each year that passes. Last year, an estimated 12,000 people came to celebrate this beloved fruit/vegetable and enjoy the day’s festivities.

I was sure to wear my red dress in honor of the fruit + veggie uniter. Your guess is as good as mine for why exactly they picked tomatoes to honor with a festival, but it’s pretty great and the people watching is very entertaining. Grins Cafe (along with several other local vendors) were passing out samples and here I am eating their delicious Roma Tomato Panzanella. (Why, oh why have I never eaten at Grins? Located on the Vanderbilt campus, it’s one of the only strictly vegetarian/kosher places in town. Check out their daily specials… don’t those sound amazing?!)

Afterward, I went to a friend’s new apartment for a surprise birthday poker party. I used to actually be pretty good at the game and now I think I get too antsy after sitting for awhile and practically give up my chips. We weren’t playing with buy-ins so that made it a little easier to give up. 😉 Today is my friend’s actual birthday so we’re meeting for a $1 theater showing of Star Trek (my THIRD time to see it) this afternoon and then having a cookout at my place. Yum!

Goals for Week 13:

  • I’m keeping the post-it where I can see it for sure!
  • I’m going to give this Pilates video a fair two-week shot. They guarantee your muscles will start to lengthen and you’ll see results after that amount of time.
  • I don’t want to give up running completely, though a week off to focus on other things was nice. I want to try to add a little back in this week here and there.

What’re you choosing to celebrate today??

sig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    August 9, 2009 2:00 pm

    AGH!! I miss Grins!!! Sooo good 🙂

    You’ll have to let me know what you think of the Pilates DVD!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 9, 2009 4:40 pm

      The Grins menu looks delicious. I think I always forget about them because they’re on the Vandy campus and their open hours follow the school schedule.

      I tried the Pilates DVD once – the sculpting routine – and I like it so far! My triceps were burning the next day… that’s a good sign!

  2. August 9, 2009 7:01 pm

    4.2lbs!!! Woohoo!! Congrats!!! 🙂 And awesome on keeping active out of your “routine”… its good to switch things up a bit.. keeps things from getting boring! lol!

    Today i’m celebrating that we have air conditioning… LOL!! It’s 44C (111F) here today.. ack!

    Hope you had a fabulous day!! 🙂

    ~Carla~
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 9, 2009 9:26 pm

      Oh, Carla… 111 degrees?! WOW! I would be celebrating AC, too!!

      Have a great week! 🙂

  3. August 10, 2009 3:07 am

    Hai tomato girl!

    Festival sounds great, so sounds the rest of your weekend.

    I’ve got a strange idea between my ears: if I don’t go running as planned I’m afraid I immediately lose my shape. It’s absurd cause I’ve run 50 minutes yesterday after three days of no exercise but as I’ve said: it’s all between the ears so I’ll keep running 🙂

    Great that you’ve lost the weight! I’m still trying to lose what I’ve eaten at the tapas night last Thursday! Just looking at food gains weight it seems.

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 10, 2009 5:34 am

      Our minds can play weird tricks on us, can’t they?! I sometimes think the same thing.

      I’ve thought about this past week to figure out what the difference has been (so I can do it again this week!) and I really think it’s been the added strength workouts here and there – lifting free weights and focusing on ab work, etc. Otherwise, it was business as usual.

      Everything really is connected, I guess… it’s like no matter how diligent you are about doing one (cardio), it only really does its job when paired with the other (strength training).

  4. Fran permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:09 pm

    Well I’ve lost my mojo today 🙂 Running went terrible, it seemed that all my training has been for nothing. But I know it’s not true, I’m just having a bad day. Tomorrow will be better!

  5. August 10, 2009 1:45 pm

    Glad you had a great week! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

