Skip to content

Living well and equipping others to do the same

August 15, 2009

Has it really been three days since my last post? Time has REALLY gotten away from me this week. But I have a good excuse… I promise!

Over the past few months, I’ve gotten involved with a group of business men and women, helping to plan a fund raising event for the Bhutanese-Nepali refugee community in Middle Tennessee.

small nepali groupDue to a series of events within the past year, the UN stepped in and approximately 200 Bhutanese-Nepali refugees found themselves starting life over in Nashville. Being the first of their kind here, they were clueless to the basic life skills we take for granted (using cleaning products, refrigerating perishables, personal hygiene, etc.) The group of professionals I’ve been working with are volunteering their time and resources to equip them with the tools and skill sets to live well.

The benefit event is this coming week(!!) and centers around a movie premiere of “Journey to Everest,” directed by local filmmaker, David Kiern. I’ve been doing the design work for the film and the marketing materials leading up to the event. It’s been a lot of work in a short amount of time, but it feels really good to give back to the community and help others in need. πŸ™‚

Otherwise, this week has gone well. I am continuing to enjoy the 2-week Total Body Turnaround, only I know myself and it’s going to take a little longer than two weeks. πŸ˜‰ Wednesday, I was pressed for time and had extra energy so although I started out with good intentions, I just ended up running the entire way instead of alternating intervals. Thursday, I ended up doing the workout part, but not the strength part. So Friday, I repeated Thursday’s workout correctly. And this is why the 2-week Total Body Turnaround will end up taking me at least three.

As always, I’m keep-on keepin’ on!

Have a great weekend!

sig

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    August 15, 2009 2:29 pm

    What do you think of the Turnaround so far? Effective?

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 15, 2009 8:17 pm

      Meh – effective as in, it keeps me moving and definitely keeps me on top of the strength stuff. No real noticeable results yet… other than the typical energy boost that always comes with any workout. πŸ™‚

  2. August 16, 2009 10:57 am

    WOW! Sounds like you are making a difference in the lives of those around you. What an inspiration. Good luck with the benefit event. Hopefully we can see some pictures ?!?!
    πŸ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 16, 2009 11:17 am

      Thanks! I’m really excited about it. I’ll have my iPhone with me and was definitely planning to snap some discreet pictures of the event. πŸ™‚

  3. August 16, 2009 6:13 pm

    What an awesome cause you have decided to take up! They are lucky to have an asset such as yourself on their side!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 16, 2009 8:08 pm

      Thanks, girl! Flattery will get you everywhere! πŸ˜€

  4. August 16, 2009 8:00 pm

    That sounds like a wonderful organization! Good for you!!! ((Hugs)) And fabulous job on the “2 week” turnaround program!!! Wouldn’t that be nice if it really only took 2 weeks? hahaha!!!

    ~C.
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 16, 2009 8:07 pm

      Hehe, I know, right?! Even the 30-Day Shred took me at least two months. I tend to procrastinate on programs like that. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Living well and equipping others to do the same | Film Premiere Clips
  2. Multitasking is easy for octopi « Amanda Lives Well
  3. Tomorrow! Tomorrow! I love ya, tomorrow! You’re only a day away… « Amanda Lives Well
  4. Weekly wrap-up: don’t wanna miss a thing « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

