Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: never a dull moment

August 16, 2009

Last night was the first night in what feels like forever that I had absolutely NOTHING to do. And since the rest of my weekend was fairly busy, I loved every minute of it.

Yesterday afternoon, I went to a friend’s bachelorette party (that’s us to the left, playing a game where we matched up famous celebrity couples) and snacked on delicious mini-quiches, white sangria, and petit fours… so my .8lb gain this morning was not shocking. But overall, even if I maintained (or gained .8lbs) over the course of a week, I’m considering that a success. Because even though I had a lot going on this week, I still managed to get outside every day and do something active. I guarantee you that’s the only way I got through this week feeling relatively stress-free. Which just goes to show… if your main excuse is never having enough time to exercise because you’re too busy, then MAKE TIME. You will stop realizing and stressing over how busy you are and feel all the better for it.

Today was one of the best birthday parties I’d been to in some time. Most birthday celebrations I attend usually involve gorging on food or taking place at a bar. Not this one. It was a beautiful day in Nashville and we all gathered at Granny White Park. We started the party off playing sand volleyball (a great leg workout!) and then went over to the baseball field for an old-fashioned game of kickball. I left feeling sweaty amazing.ย  It was so refreshing to get a group of friends together and do something active for a change. Who says birthdays have to equal over-indulgence?

Afterward, I ran home and grabbed a quick shower and rejoined the group at one of my favorite restaurants: Genghis Grill. Upon seating, they give you a small silver bowl which you can fill up with proteins, veggies and seasonings of your choice. You choose your sauce and a starch (rice, noodles, tortillas, etc.) and then they stir fry them all together on this huge round griddle.

IMG_0889I decided to go with the Buddhist Bowl tonight: tofu, bean sprouts, onions, baby corn, squash, zucchini, green beans, yellow curry salt and brown rice tossed with a honey-soy sauce. I sprinkled a few sesame seeds on top. It looks like a gigantic mess, but it was a delicious gigantic mess. Stir-fried tofu tastes like the scrambled eggs in fried rice… it’s SO good.

Afterward the group went to Coldstone Creamery and I debated about getting a small cup of something… but then I remembered that I had a piece of Dove Dark Chocolate in my purse and ate that instead. Satisfying my sweet tooth at a fraction of the calories. Smart choice success!

Goals for Week 14:

What are your goals for the coming week?

sig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 6:38 am

    Sounds like someone had an amazing weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 17, 2009 4:26 pm

      You & me both, girl! Those pictures from the wedding you attended were beautiful!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Fran permalink
    August 17, 2009 1:05 pm

    You have such a nice life with so many good friends! I always enjoy reading your adventures about this. You’re weekend sounds great as always!

    My goals this week? Enjoy my holiday and try not to gain weight ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 17, 2009 4:28 pm

      Ooh, a holiday! Are you traveling anywhere fun?

      I always have such a tough time with weight gain over vacations. It’s hard to stay strict with exercise and nutrition when I’m specifically setting aside time to RELAX. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Fran permalink
    August 18, 2009 1:35 am

    No, no traveling this holiday. We’ve run out of money because we’ve built a new garage next to our house. But I like being at home so it doesn’t matter that much. Next year we will travel again, have to be patient.

Leave a Reply

