Skip to content

Weekly wrap-up: don’t wanna miss a thing

August 24, 2009

This week was a whirlwhind! I love when I have a week that is chock full of opportunities to make good memories.

First thing’s first! Regardless of my terrible exercising routine (read: non-existent), I somehow managed to lose 1.8lbs this week. I’m not really excited about the loss so much as I am about knowing that I can eat correctly without tracking everything. This doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop tracking my calories, but it does mean that good eating habits are becoming second-nature and that’s definitely something to get excited about.

The Journey to Everest World Premiere event was this past Thursday night and it could not have gone better. The phones were ringing off the hook on the day of with people wanting to purchase tickets. Eventually, we had to turn some people away because we were over capacity at the movie theater. Over 500 people showed up to support the cast & crew, the cause and the community. I left feeling overwhelmed by the huge, compassionate hearts people have.

Upon walking into the theater, the Nashville-Nepali community (probably 200 of them!) lined the entrance. They all put their hands together at their heart and bowed saying “Namaste” as we walked by. We joked together that since they’re in Nashville now, they will alter their greeting to be “Namaste, y’all!”

In the theater, silent auction items (including autographed guitars by Reba McEntire, the Judds, and Tim McGraw & Faith Hill!) lined the wall underneath the big screen. P.F. Chang’s catered the event: spicy chicken, lettuce wraps, your choice of brown or white rice and fortune cookies. Delicious!

Before the movie started, a group of Nepalis performed a few songs and two little girls, in their traditional Nepali dress, performed a dance. I wish someone got that on video beacuse it was absolutely beautiful. Finally, the movie started and it was everything I thought it’d be and more: a true life adventure story with amazing scenery and an on-screen journey of faith. Amazing work by the super talented, David Kiern.

By the time Friday rolled around, I was still on an emotional high from the event. I was able to hand out a few tickets to several of my friends who all showed up and I had worn my new Simply Vera Wang dress, feeling very confident. All around success! Don’t you love when a good plan comes together? ๐Ÿ™‚

Saturday, I attended another bridal shower for one of my dear friends. Wedding showers or not, I love leisurely weekends spending time with girlfriends. And that’s really all it was! Just a bunch of girls sitting around gabbing for several hours. And the food wasn’t bad either. ๐Ÿ˜‰

photo photo3 photo2

Since the shower was at 11am (and since I love party food more than regular meals), I limited my breakfast to two cups of coffee and treated this as brunch. I had one slice of cheese on one cracker, three or four mini-quiches, two or three chicken salad tarts, two spoonfuls of the cherry tomato/mozzarella/onion salad (so good), a few carrots and broccoli with some spinach dip, some delicious watermelon and grapes and two small glasses of white wine sangria. Later, I had a small individual cake and dipped one marshmallow and one strawberry into the chocolate fountain. I couldn’t resist!

Sunday, I visited the Farmer’s Market to stock up on some homegrown veggies. I still can’t get over the prices. $15 bought me 5 zucchini, 5 yellow squash, 6 green bell peppers, 4 onions, 1 seedless watermelon and 4 peaches. I love summer produce!

Afterward, I came back to clean and get ready for the third and final pool party of the summer. It was unseasonably cold though so the girls mostly sat around the pool and talked while the boys played with the floating basketball goal. When we got back to the house, we grilled chicken, pork chops, hamburgers, steak, veggie burgers (a little something for everyone!), baked potatoes and some of the veggies I’d picked up earlier. Another success!

I was talking with my mom a few days ago and mentioned that one of my New Year’s Resolutions in January was to really put myself out there to meet new people and enlarge my circle of friends. And I think I’ve done a pretty good job of that. This summer has probably been the best yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

sig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    August 24, 2009 1:32 pm

    I loved reading your experiences with the event. It certainly sounds like a great succes!

    And lost 1.8 lbs: good job!

    It’s funny that you had the same goal at the beginning of this year which I had beginning 2008: making more time for friends and find new friends.
    I put my social life first because friends are important, they make us happy.

    My summer is usually quiet cause everybody is going on a holiday then but in September it will go on, starting on September 5th with a seventies party of one of my friends ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 25, 2009 9:11 am

      I agree – life is good, but friends enrich your life and make it even better!

      The 70s party sounds too fun!! Can you believe September is right around the corner?

  2. August 24, 2009 2:44 pm

    Looks like you were a very busy little lady!! Glad that your week worked out well for you! I’m sure you’ll get right back into the exercise routine.

    And congrats on a successful event!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 25, 2009 9:11 am

      Busy – YES. But I wouldn’t have it any other way!

      I’m vacationing the entire week of Labor Day at a lake house and CAN. NOT. WAIT. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. August 25, 2009 12:52 am

    You are so cute! Congratulations on the loss and eating well!

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 25, 2009 9:12 am

      Hehe, thanks Angie!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Flynn permalink
    August 25, 2009 7:59 pm

    Awesome post for an amazing week!!

Leave a Reply

