Skip to content

Panera promotes living well

August 29, 2009

After five years of homeowner-ship, I’m finally changing up the interior color of my house! Since the painters are coming Monday, I’m spending my entire weekend cleaning, prepping, and moving furniture.

I did set aside some leisure time this morning to catch up with some friends at one of my favorite coffeehouses in Germantown called Drink Haus. Drink Haus also has an extensive tea menu and they have the option to sell it by the pot which I took advantage of this morning. I ordered a Japanese-Cherry green tea and should’ve taken a picture because the whole contraption they served it in was pretty awesome. The tea pot was clear and showed off the freshly steeped leaves and flower petals inside. At the bar, they had a honey sweetener and I used 1/2 pump per mug. I split the pot with a friend and we each had three mugs a piece. Excellent value, if you ask me!

photoI skipped out on breakfast (a usual no-no for me) and instead opted for a heavier brunch before finishing some shopping for tonight’s cookout.

Panera is close to home, quick and relatively inexpensive so I decided to stop there and ordered half a Mediterranean Veggie sandwich with a cup of Black Bean soup and a whole grain baguette. (I almost licked the bowl clean… if you like black beans with a bit of a spicy kick, ORDER THIS mmkay? It’s really delicious.)

nutritionalinfo

While I was waiting for my food, I noticed a new addition to my neighborhood Panera: a computerized nutritional calculator mounted on the wall! I quickly tallied my meal (420 calories – not including the pickle spear, the apple, or the baguette) and felt so proud that they would promote this in their store.

Of course I’m thrilled that a lot of eating establishments offer their nutritional info online, but I wish more restaurants would offer this service in-store.

My only complaint (if you could really call it that) was that this was mounted by the food pick-up line… not the order line. So even if you’d tallied your meal to be a bit too hefty, at that point it was a little too late to do anything about it (except get part of it to-go, I guess).Β  Pfft, still an awesome discovery! KUDOS Panera!

Wishing you delicious, good-for-you eats this weekend,

sig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 6:34 pm

    I love love *love* the black bean soup. I go there ONLY on days that they are serving the Black Bean Soup.

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 29, 2009 9:48 pm

      This was my first time ordering it and I have no idea why. I was missing out!

  2. August 30, 2009 3:52 am

    This sounds like the perfect mealtime for me. I’m a tea lover and I’m also vegan so I like the sound of black beans and a veggie sandwich. It’s one of the few meals I could ever eat in a restaurant. And nutrition info right there accessible in the store? The word that comes to mind to describe this is “ethical.”

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 30, 2009 9:00 am

      And what a great veggie sandwich it is! Piquant peppers, feta cheese (which I’m sure you could get it without), cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, onions and cilantro hummus on Tomato Basil bread. Delish!

      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. Fran permalink
    August 30, 2009 7:57 am

    Food looks good! Here in Holland the only one who has their nutrition info online is Mac Donalds πŸ™‚

    Have a nice Sunday and good luck with cleaning this weekend.

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 30, 2009 8:55 am

      They’ve actually passed laws in a few parts of the country that require eating establishments (even Starbucks) to post their nutritional info inside the store, but Tennessee hasn’t picked it up yet.

      Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  4. August 30, 2009 12:22 pm

    I miss Panera so much! They don’t have them in Utah.

    • Amanda permalink*
      August 30, 2009 4:01 pm

      Bummer! We used to have a few Atlanta Bread Companies, but after we got the first Panera a few years ago, they started popping up all over the place. I think we have more than 7 in the metro-Nashville area now!

Trackbacks

  1. Panera promotes living well · China Best Tea
  2. Living Well Spotlight: The Pink Posse « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

