Skip to content

Reading: Embracing the Fat

September 1, 2009

One of my friends just posted a link on Facebook which, of course, I had to link back to here. Interesting food for thought:

NEW YORK TIMES: Tossing Out the Diet and Embracing the Fat

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 11:26 am

    I would love to throw out the scale but embracing the fat? No thanks!

    Great picture!

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 1, 2009 11:45 am

      Did you read the article? I don’t think they mean to “embrace the fat” literally as much as they mean stop obsessing over numbers and false dreams of everything falling into place once you hit your perfect size.

      I think their idea of eating like you’re already at your goal weight is interesting. Once you hit your “goal weight,” you won’t start splurging on doughnuts and fast food but I think it will weed out obsessing over calorie counts and focusing more on enjoying life and all aspects of it – even food! It’s kind of inline with the “once you stop looking for it, you’ll find it” idea. Interesting.

  2. Fran permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:53 pm

    I have to admit: I didn’t. Thought it was just a picture πŸ˜†

  3. Fran permalink
    September 1, 2009 1:58 pm

    Now I did read it and indeed eating as if you have reached your goal weight is not such a bad thing. My purpose has always been once I got there that I would eat healthy and have something nice like a snack of something backed or a dessert in my weekend. Why not try it already? I think I’ll give it a go.

    As for exercising, I’m enjoying that more and more so that’s good. A few years ago I did it without pleasure because “I had too”.
    Now I’m really feeling better because of the exercise so I’ll maintain that.

    xxx

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 1, 2009 2:01 pm

      Great thoughts… I’m with you! πŸ™‚

      To living well!
      A

Leave a Reply

