Skip to content

Countdown to R&R

September 5, 2009

I don’t remember ever looking forward to a weekend as much as I’ve been looking forward to this one. Today kicks off my week-long vacation! (Insert sigh of relief here.)

This week was the perfect week leading up to it. It was busy and I was able to knock out a big part of my ongoing to-do list, but it was also fun, too! Monday and Tuesday I painted the interior of my house and the new color really warms the place up. Wednesday night, I hosted a small dinner party with a few friends and Thursday night, I played in downtown Nashville with some of my favorite out-of-towners.

Nashville recently decided, since it’s nicknamed “Music City” and all, that maybe it should host a free concert series downtown. Thursday night kicked off the Live on the Green series with the Toadies! If you’re thinking back to the 90s and humming Possum Kingdom, then yes! THOSE Toadies. Great show, great friends, great night!

P1020863 P1020852 P1020868

To kick off my vacation this morning, I got up fairly early and cooked a big breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I love oatmeal, but I’m from the South and sometimes a girl just needs some comfort food. I was cooking for two and decided I’d conduct a little experiment. For my roommate (who can drink Cokes and Mountain Dews all day and not gain a pound), I made two omelets (3 eggs each with about 1/4 cup shredded cheese sprinkled in the middle of both), bfast2 servings of Simply Potatoes, and 2 reduced-fat crescent rolls totaling 870 calories. In his defense, he probably only ate half of the potatoes making it 790 calories.

For my breakfast, I made basically the same thing, but with some alterations: oneΒ  omelet (1/2 cup Egg Beaters with one wedge of Light Laughing Cow Swiss cheese in the middle), 1 serving of Simply Potatoes and 2 reduced-fat crescent rolls totalingΒ  355 calories. I also had a cup of coffee with about 1 tbsp of creamer so the final count was probably more like 385. Still not bad for a big, Southern breakfast. πŸ™‚

Hope you all have an amazing holiday weekend! How are you spending your extra day off?

sig

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Flynn permalink
    September 6, 2009 9:31 am

    Omg!! Your roommie’s breakfast (and yours) sounds amazing!! Can I put in a special request for that when I come to visit? πŸ˜‰

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 6, 2009 10:44 am

      Fo’ sho! πŸ™‚

      Can’t wait till October!!!

  2. Fran permalink
    September 6, 2009 12:09 pm

    Never heard of the Toadies but a free concert is always good!

    Breakfast sounds really good.

    At your extra free day I’ll be a hardworking lady at the office πŸ™‚ We don’t have bank holiday but if I’m correct we have more holidays over the year than in the USA so I’m not complaining πŸ™‚

    Have lots of fun sweety!

Leave a Reply

