Skip to content

Thinkin’ pink

September 16, 2009

I refuse to start another post with an apology on how long its taken me to post. I also refuse to make excuses over how busy this week has been or make another mention of how fast this year is flying by and how I just can’t believe it’s already the middle of September. Yep. I simply refuse.

Moving on!

PinkPosseShirtFRONTI’m hitting the road AGAIN tomorrow morning for another weekend out of town. This time more for business than pleasure. My company is sponsoring the Pink Posse of Georgia in their annual walk. The Pink Posse of Georgia is a client of mine (I designed and currently maintain their website) and every year they have a 5K walk to raise funds to support local families who have been affected by breast cancer. In addition to being a sponsor, my mom and I will also be participating in honor of my grandmother, a cancer survivor. I can’t wait to post pictures since I designed the t-shirts this year!

hotpink7 (Small)Another fun project I’m working on is HOT PINK! — An inaugural event in the metro-Nashville area to raise funds for the Greater Nashville affiliate of Susan G. Komen. Event-goers will enjoy local music while bidding on silent auction items AND a live auction. Oh yes, my friends… get this: we’re auctioning off local firemen for lunch dates in metro-Nashville. Hilarious and awesome! I’m really looking forward to this. ๐Ÿ™‚

Other than that, this week I’ve tried to focus on picking my running back up and I’ve been… err, somewhat successful. My feet feel like lead everytime I attempt to run so I’ve been interspersing them with several bouts of walking… which is FINE, but a little frustrating since I used to run 3-4 miles a day without batting an eye. I have two 5Ks coming up next month though and I really want to cut my time, so I better get crackin’!

Ah, well… slow and steady wins the race, right?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

sig

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 10:14 am

    You will get right back into running. I just know it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 17, 2009 9:22 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement… I sure hope so! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. September 17, 2009 12:59 pm

    Win a lunch date with a Fireman? Who wouldn’t love that?

    Good luck with your running. You can do it!

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 17, 2009 9:22 pm

      I know, right?? I thought that was a really creative, fun way to raise funds for a great cause. There was no way I could say no!

  3. Fran permalink
    September 17, 2009 2:23 pm

    That’s true: better slow and finish than don’t run at all.

    Great that your walking the 5K for your grandmother. In Holland this organisation is called Pink Ribbon.

    You should listen sometime to Melissa Etheridge, I run for life.
    Beautiful song about running and surviving breast cancer and great song for running too.

    Have fun this weekend!

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 17, 2009 9:23 pm

      I haven’t heard the song, but I will definitely check it out! She’s a cancer survivor, too, isn’t she??

  4. nataliology permalink
    September 18, 2009 10:29 am

    You should right a children’s book “The little Amanda that COULD”! You rock the entrepeuner and inspiration arena. Fo shizzle my Nashville Nizzle.

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 18, 2009 10:41 am

      Oh, stop. YOU are a rockstar! โค

  5. Fran permalink
    September 18, 2009 12:03 pm

    Yes, Melissa is a cancer survivor too.

    I’ve lost my dad to cancer 9 years ago. I downloaded this song on my ipod but never really listened to it till last Saturday when I was doing a 10K run and it almost got me to tears while running.

    I run for hope
    I run to feel
    I run for the truth
    For all that is real
    I run for your mother, your sister, your wife
    I run for you and me, my friend
    I run for life

    And when the song finished I decided running was from that moment on also a tribute to my dad!

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 18, 2009 12:47 pm

      AMAZING! I love that. What a reason to never give up!!

  6. September 18, 2009 10:28 pm

    5ks?? I’m huffing and puffing just for running a mile! Keep up the good work ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. “True friendship is like sound health; the value of it is seldom known until it be lost.” – Charles Caleb Colton « Amanda Lives Well

Leave a Reply

