Skip to content

Living Well Spotlight: The Pink Posse

September 19, 2009

photo(6)I woke up this morning, 20 minutes before my alarm went off at 6:40am and promptly put on my pink shirt. Today was the 4th Annual Pink Posse of Georgia Walk!

In 2005, Alice Ramsey was diagnosed with breast cancer. On days of her treatment, Alice was accompanied by her friends… all wearing pink – pink shirts, pink caps, pink slacks, even pink feather boas! They brought coloring books for those waiting for treatment, they laughed, they picked up the spirits of the other patients and after several visits, the staff had christened this group of friends: The Pink Posse.

The Pink Posse Foundation founded in 2006, is a 501(c)(3) comprised of local people serving local people during their cancer treatment. Over the past three years, the walks have brought out over 300 participants, including over 20 survivors, and the proceeds have gone to help over 57 families affected by cancer in the metro-Atlanta area.

photo(3)As if that wasn’t enough to warrant Alice’s rockstar status, get this: Alice is a flight attendant for Delta and worked with a seamstress to create pink flight attendant uniforms to wear on their pink plane!

While the attendants are wearing the uniforms, they collect money for the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. Halfway joking, Alice told me those uniforms brought in more money than a pole! ๐Ÿ˜‰

photo(5)photo(4)The walk that we thought was a 5K ended up being a 10K, which was fine with me. There was a light rain, but the scenery was beautiful and I was glad to spend the time with my mom.

The walk drew a huge crowd and of course, it was a lot of fun to see them all wearing my t-shirt design! When we finished up, there were bananas, bagels, “mammogram cookies” and a choice of pink lemonade and “adult” (spiked!) pink lemonade. They announced some awesome door prizes and passed out some special awards. What a fun crowd! I will definitely make plans to attend this next year. These ladies know how to have a good time. ๐Ÿ™‚

photophoto(2)On the drive back, Mom and I decided to stop at Wendy’s for a quick lunch. They’re no Panera with an electronic nutritional guide, but they did have their nutrition info framed and hanging right inside the door.

I ordered a Jr. Hamburger (230 cals), a diet coke and I split a small chocolate Frosty (160 cals) with my mom. Since it was cold and rainy, I opted for a cup of their chili (190 cals) instead of fries and it really hit the spot. A little hefty for lunch which means I’ll just have to have a light dinner.

All in all a great day!

sig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    September 20, 2009 12:45 pm

    Beautiful and great day so it seems!

  2. September 20, 2009 2:58 pm

    What a great day! If I ever have to deal with cancer…I hope I have a Pink Posse.

    Thanks for reminding me that there are some healthy choices at Wendy’s.

    • September 29, 2009 9:38 am

      The Pink Posse is such a great group! Their attitudes and smiles are contagious… we had a great time!

      The Wendy’s selections may not exactly be HEALTHY per se, but they definitely have a few options that won’t wreck your day if you’re forced to eat fast food. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. September 20, 2009 7:51 pm

    You are WONDERFUL! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you had a great weekend.

  4. September 27, 2009 1:27 pm

    Such a wonderful thing to support!!! Good for you! I love the mammogram cookies… lmao!!! Too funny!

    ~C.
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 28, 2009 10:16 pm

      Hehe, I love them too! Pretty creative, eh?

  5. chris ramsey permalink
    September 30, 2009 7:23 pm

    thanks for your support to us!! YOU rock !!What a great day we raised $8500!

    • Amanda permalink*
      September 30, 2009 7:27 pm

      That is AWESOME!! I was so happy to be a part of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

